My Favorite Things | JUNE 2017

Summer has gotten off to a pretty good start. I’ve spent nearly every weekend in the sunshine and enjoying the lake. As always, today I thought I would share with y’all the items that struck my fancy in the month of June.

FullSizeRender

In addition to beauty, I have a book favorite as well as a playlist. Let’s get right to it!

B E A U T Y 

FullSizeRender (3)

For the past couple years, drugstore beauty brands have really stepped up their game. There are lots of dupes out there that closely compare to high-end products. One of them is this Maybelline MasterChrome Metallic Highlighter in Molten Gold. Before this product, I never really found an INTENSE drugstore highlighter.

Well friends, Molten Gold fills that void–and fills it well! This creamy, champagne-gold highlighter is the real deal. It reminds me of Becca’s Champagne Pop on steroids. Molten Gold is definitely on the flashy side. I can see how it can be intimidating to wear, but all you have to do is use a light hand.

To apply, I use the RealTechniques Setting Brush. Its fine, synthetic bristles pick up product very nicely. Molten Gold looks so gorgeous on the tops of my cheekbones. I make sure to spend a little extra time blending so the highlighter adheres nicely to my skin instead of just sitting on top.

Molten Gold isn’t for the faint of heart–but if you’re searching for a daring but glam highlight, look no further. I really hope Maybelline comes out with more shades!

FullSizeRender (1)

I’ve used L’Oreal Shampoo for so long that I can’t remember what brand I used before this one. I’m currently on my third bottle of this EverCurl HydraCharge Shampoo, and it has become my favorite.

Although I love my fine, wavy hair, it can be prone to dryness and frizz. This shampoo does a great job of keeping those issues at bay while not weighing my hair down one bit. It cleans nicely and provides just the right amount of moisture. Plus, it smells like coconut. Who doesn’t love that?!

Nonetheless, I will continue to buy this shampoo. It’s smooth and creamy, and doesn’t contain harsh salts. I just love everything about it!

J E W E L R Y

FullSizeRender (2)

How cute are these BaubleBar Embellished Tassel Earrings from Target?

Tassel earrings are definitely a hot trend this year. They just add sophistication and fun to any outfit! You can pair them with a cocktail dress, or a top and jean skirt like I did.

As if you couldn’t find another reason to love Target, their jewelry selection has been ON POINT lately with so many funky and stylish earrings to choose from. Best of all, you don’t have to sacrifice your wallet. Can’t wait to pick out my next pair!

A  B O O K  WORTH READING

FullSizeRender (4)

Ever since I devoured Karma Brown’s Come Away with Me and The Choices We Make earlier this year, I counted the weeks until her third effort, In This Moment,  hit shelves.

Brown resumed her classic storytelling formula with Moment: The main character endures tragedy and finds a way to rise above….

Meg Pepper is picking up her teenage daughter from school one day when she carelessly waves a teenage boy across the street. Another car appears out of nowhere, accidentally hitting him. He is seriously injured.

Blaming herself, Meg is torn to shreds over this freak accident. She desperately tries to make amends with the boy’s family. Meanwhile, pain from her past comes creeping back  to haunt her as she remembers witnessing a similar traumatic event years earlier.

Moment details how she comes to terms with her pain, while trying to keep her hectic life–which is quickly unraveling–in tact.

***

In This Moment didn’t blow me away as much as Brown’s previous novels. With that being said, I’m still a huge fan of her writing style. She tells Meg’s story in such a relatable way. Meg’s emotions are raw and believable–you’ll just want to give her a hug.

Although Moment lacks the poignant punch of Brown’s other books, it is still worth reading. Each character is well-developed along with the storyline.

I give In This Moment a B+, and am already anticipating Brown’s next release!

P L A Y L I S T

A small eternity has passed since I made a new Favorites Playlist. There are many things to be happy about music-wise!

For one, Shania Twain has made her comeback after a 15-year hiatus! Woohoo! Her new single, Life’s About To Get Good is a breath of fresh air. It has a STRONG 60’s vibe with a plucky banjo twist. Good is eclectic and joyful, just like Shania herself. She sings about overcoming pain–something that EVERYONE can relate to. I can’t wait to hear her new record!

Also, Niall Horan came out with a new single, Slow Hands. Horan departed from his One Direction pop roots for a more rustic, soulful sound–reminiscent of John Meyer.  This song has been on repeat for the past two weeks. Slow Hands is such a flirty and catchy summer song.

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post!

IMG_0451

 

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Things | JUNE 2017

  1. femmerewritten says:

    Love your June favs! Some of these could become my July ones!! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Looking forward to your future posts.
    Stop by my space sometime,
    Mena | femmerewritten.com 🌻✨

  2. typicalteenager76 says:

    The weather had been so great hasn’t it! Unfortunately it’s not too great where I live at the moment! I need a new book to read so I’ll definitely try that one! Great post, it’d mean so much if you checked mine out too xx

    • Lyndi Locke says:

      I hope the weather gets better where you live and you’ll get to see sunshine soon 🙂 I highly recommend anything by Karma Brown–she’s a fantastic writer! Love your blog, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

