The BEST (really) cheap DRUGSTORE makeup

Today I’m going to talk about some of my FAVORITE drugstore beauty buys. It’s always a home run when I stumble upon cheap makeup that I end up really LOVING! Here are my thoughts…

FullSizeRender

There are TONS of high-end makeup brushes out there with super-soft bristles that offer even coverage. For some reason, I have never been one who wants to drop major cash on makeup brushes. I have found that elf Makeup Brushes do the trick for me! And you know what? Pretty much all of them are under ten dollars! Their eye makeup brushes are the BEST. They apply my shadow like a dream and aren’t the least bit streaky!

I really love the Complexion Brush also. The handle has loosened a bit over time, but it has yet to break–and still works just fine. These brushes also wash very nicely and hardly (if ever) shed. If you’re looking for some (very) cheap but amazing quality makeup brushes, I strongly suggest checking out the Elf section at the drugstore.

FullSizeRender (5)

Essence Satin Touch Blush in Satin Love is probably one of the best affordable blushes out there. I would describe Satin Love as being a cross between a pink and rosey blush. This tawny shade flatters most skin tones, and brings out my natural flush. I wouldn’t say it’s completely matte; it doesn’t have a shimmery finish either. The satin finish has a soft sheen to it and blends into my cheeks nicely. At just $3 a pop, you can’t really go wrong. I’m looking forward to trying the other shade in this range.

As the name suggests, this blush feels slightly creamy and satin-like to the touch but goes on like a powder. It won’t leave you looking ashy or flat at all.

FullSizeRender (6)

For years, I have been faithful to my Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden. I still love that stuff but as always I’m on the hunt for a bargain. Once again, Elf got my vote with their Shadow Lock Eyelid Primer. This $2 eyeshadow primer does its job perfectly. I smooth out a small amount on my eyelids before I apply my shadow. This creamy formula dries clear and seamlessly. I only wish it had some tint to it like Eden does. Still, this has been a staple in my collection lately.

I strongly recommend wearing primer no matter what shadow you’re rocking. It will make it last so much longer! There are some high-dollar primers out there, but if you’re tight on money or just love saving it, this primer does the trick!

FullSizeRender (1)

It’s really funny how closely the new L’Oreal Voluminous Lash Paradise Mascara mirrors the iconic Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara. It has the same pearly pink tube, and even the wand is strikingly similar. After testing it out for a couple weeks now, I can honestly say that the dupe is pretty much as good as its high-end twin!

FullSizeRender (2)

Lash Paradise and BTS share a nearly identical hourglass-shaped wand. LP’s wand is a little bit smaller and more dense; the bristles are softer, too. I didn’t get quite as much length with Lash Paradise, but this mascara piles on volume like a champ. The formula is thick, but not as shiny as BTS.

All in all, Lash Paradise is a wonderful mascara! Like BTS, it gives major volume to your lashes and holds curl nicely too.  Except for a couple subtle differences, it is practically a dupe. Lash Paradise is just $10; a whopping $14 cheaper than BTS. Definitely a steal!

FullSizeRender (3)

I’m just gonna go all out and say that the Jordana EasyLiner in Baby Berry is my ALL-TIME favorite lip liner! This is the second time I’ve purchased, and I will never be without it in my collection.

Baby Berry is the prettiest pink shade. It’s not too bright or too nude, and has the most gorgeous pearly finish. I love to layer it under MAC Creme Cup Lipstick. Talk about a dream team.

Do yourself a favor and go pick up this lip liner! It costs around $2 at Walgreens. Yep, you read that right! The texture is creamy yet mattifying without being too dry. It’s just the PERFECT lip liner. I love it!!

***

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post. Finding cheap beauty thrills at the drugstore are so fun! What has been your favorite beauty steal lately?

Let me know!

IMG_0451

9 thoughts on “The BEST (really) cheap DRUGSTORE makeup

Leave a Reply

