Glossing through my lip gloss collection!

Today I thought I would do a simple post on the lip glosses that are currently in my beauty collection. I used to think lip gloss was a rather juvenile item, suitable for preteens coming into the world of makeup.

FullSizeRender

But it turns out, some gloss formulas today are quite innovative and wearable! Let’s take a look at what I have:

FullSizeRender (1)

First off, we have Buxom Full-On Lip Cream in White Russian. If I were to recommend a lip gloss that every woman should have in her collection, it would be THIS one. White Russian is just that classic peachy-pink shade that is universally flattering. There’s no shimmer or glitter just creamy, smooth color. I love to layer it on top of a creamy matte lipstick for extra dimension. Or, it is incredibly easy to slick on and wear alone for a nude lip. The cool and refreshing plumping sensation is a bonus. White Russian will forever be a staple in my collection. You just can’t go wrong with this color!

FullSizeRender (2)

The Buxom lip glosses offer a plumping effect by a cooling sensation. Too Faced Lip Injection Glossy in Let’s Flamingle is a little bit different. Upon applying this cheery, coral-pink gloss, my lips start to buzz with a warming sensation. It feels like putting a bit of hot sauce or cinnamon on my lips. Although it’s not painful, the gloss does feel different and the plumping sensation for a good 20 minutes before dying down.

I really, really love the color, but I’m just not sure I would buy this plumping gloss again.  The warmth of it gets a little distracting after a while. It’s too bad, because I’m a fan of Too Faced. Has anyone tried their Peachy Lip Oils? I’m interested in trying those out!

FullSizeRender (3)

I bought this Rimmel London Stay Glossy Lip Gloss in Non-Stop Glamour a few weeks ago as an impulse buy. Nonetheless, it was worth the five dollars. If you’re searching for a natural-looking gloss, this caramel-nude shade is just gorgeous. It is non-sticky and adds the prettiest bit of shimmer to your lips.

I do wish the staying power was stronger, but Non-Stop Glamour is no big deal to reapply. Once again, this gloss is beautiful on top of lipsticks or alone. It’s a nice little hidden gem at the drugstore.

FullSizeRender (4)

This Maybelline Color Sensational Vivid Hot Lacquer Lip Gloss in Unreal is quite new to the market, so I decided to give it a try. Although I was unsure of it at first, I’m glad I purchased.

A lip lacquer is like the glossy version of a liquid lipstick. Because the consistency is more opaque than a traditional gloss, Unreal is on the tacky side. With that being said, I don’t really mind it because the staying power is quite impressive. Even as the glossiness faded, I was left with a pretty sheen a couple hours into wearing it. I would describe Unreal as being a tawny nude shade with a touch of mauve. I’m really curious to try more shades!

***

Hope you all enjoyed this post! Glosses are ideal for when you want to wear a slight wash of color.

What is your favorite lip gloss? Let me know!

IMG_0451

2 thoughts on “Glossing through my lip gloss collection!

Leave a Reply

