My favorite things | May 2017

Since I was a tad late publishing my April 2017 favorite things, I thought I should be early with this post! As always, here are the items that struck my fancy in May. We have a lot of ground to cover, so let’s get started!

SKINCARE / BEAUTY

FullSizeRender

For the past couple months, I received a couple samples of the Clinique Foaming Sonic Facial Soap. I so loved this product that I decided to invest in a full-sized tube. So what’s so special about this cleanser?

It is simple yet luxurious. The texture is unique; like an air-whipped mousse. You just need a pea-sized amount for this cleanser to transform into a hefty lather. It feels like shaving cream! Best of all, it rinses off clean and doesn’t leave a funky residue.

For all of you out there who are sensitive to fragrance,  don’t worry–this facial cleanser has no smell. I use this facial soap  alone in the mornings, then with my Clarisonic at night. A single tube is bound to last months and months. You get a lot of bang for your buck!

FullSizeRender (1)

YouTube Vlogger KathleenLights raved about the Milani Make It Last Setting Spray a few months back. She can convince me to buy most anything, so of course I promptly headed to CVS to purchase my own bottle.

I am thoroughly impressed by this setting spray! The mist is SO incredibly fine. It feels very high-end! I am still a big fan of my NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray, but even that spray is not quite as fine as this one.

A lot of mist is deposited with one push, but it blankets your face so nicely. I just need like three sprays to cover my face! This setting spray does have a little bit of a fragrance, but it disappears once your face dries. Most importantly, it does prolong your makeup! If your face looks a little too powdery, Make It Last will smooth everything out.

FullSizeRender (2)

I’m terribly late to the Roller Lash party, but I am so glad I FINALLY tried this Benefit Mascara.

I was faithful to the They’re Real! Mascara for a year straight. These two mascaras definitely are similar formula-wise. The texture is jet black, creamy and shiny. Roller Lash is very good at curling and lengthening my lashes. I really love that the comb-shaped brush enables my lashes hold curl all day! The rubber bristles coat my lashes evenly and eliminate clumping. While it does give me SOME volume, Roller Lash isn’t quite as intense as They’re Real!

FullSizeRender (3)

I will continue to purchase Roller Lash; it is such a good everyday mascara and worth the price too. 🙂

WHAT I’M STREAMING

FullSizeRender (4)

I’ve been slowly getting into podcasts lately; BobbyCast is one that I have really enjoyed. If you’re a country music fanatic like me, look no further! It’s hosted by Bobby Bones, a popular radio host.

Bobby invites country singers and songwriters over to his house for a chat. Each episode is low-key but interesting at the same time. I love to hear how each singer/songwriter’s backstory and how they craft their songs. My favorite episode so far is when Bobby interviews Maren Morris. I just LOVE her so much!

You can download BobbyCast for free in the Apple App Store. 🙂

FullSizeRender (5)

About three weeks ago, I completed the entire Parenthood series on Netflix. My heart broke to leave that fictional family. I frequently had to remind myself that it was just a TV show; the final episode was incredibly moving!

Anyway, I have decided to watch Friday Night Lights. This show is about a small town in Texas. Dillon revolves around high school football, so FNL explores all of this town’s ups and downs.

 It took me a solid four or five episodes to get hooked, but I am enjoying it so far! It reminds me a lot of the small town that I am from. I’m excited to see how the story progresses.

IMG_0451

4 thoughts on “My favorite things | May 2017

Leave a Reply

