My favorite things | April 2017

So sorry I’m a tad late writing this post! Time has gotten away from me. As always, here are the items that caught my attention for the month of April. Let’s get right to it!

Beauty

FullSizeRender (1)

The “Beauty-To-Go” section at Sephora never fails to grab my interest. There are some nifty gems hidden in those tiny plastic boxes lacing the checkout line. I first heard YouTuber RachhLoves rave about the Tarte Tarteist Pro To Go Palette. After swatching each eyeshadow on my hand and seeing how beautiful and buttery they are, I knew I had to add this to my collection.

FullSizeRender

As you can see, the Pro To Go Palette is made up of six shadows. There are three matte shades, as well as a gold shimmer shadow. The two round shades have a foil-like finish. This is such a versatile little set. You can just wear the matte shadows for a natural, everyday look, or you can pop on one of the foil-y shadows to spice things up. My favorite shade is ‘Dominate.’ It’s a fuchsia shade that is very wearable; not too bold. I like to put it in my crease!

The nifty thing about this palette is that you don’t have to be a ‘pro’ when using it! In fact, I like to skip brushes all together. I’ve found that these shadows blend so well when I just apply them with my fingertips! It gives you a more natural finish! You can’t really go wrong.  I highly recommend the Pro To Go Palette to anyone. Six eyeshadows for $25 is a pretty awesome deal. 🙂

FullSizeRender (2)

I’m pretty sure that I received a small sample of the Fresh Sugar Face Polish when I purchased the Tarteist Pro To Go Palette. I immediately fell in love with this scrub as soon as I applied it to my face!

The thought of applying a sugar scrub to your face can seem a bit scary. What if the granules scratch your skin? That’s not the case with this product. The sugar is so finely milled that it is not the least bit rough. I was surprised at how gentle this scrub actually is!

FullSizeRender (3)

I like to wash my face first and then use this scrub twice a week. I massage it on my face, and then leave it on for three minutes or so. This scrub rolls right off my skin leaving no funky residue behind. It will make your face feel really soft and supple. I love it so much! The full-sized tub of this scrub is pricey, so I just stuck with buying the one-ounce size. Nonetheless, it is definitely worth the money. It removes dead skin and impurities without being harsh. Plus, it smells (and tastes) divine!

A Good Read

 FullSizeRender (4)

 A year later, I still remember the sinking feeling I felt when my mom texted me “Oh no! Prince has died!!!” during my senior seminar class. This mysterious man impacted millions of people with his music.  Just weeks before he died, Mom and I were talking about how neat it would be to see him in concert.

The Most Beautiful is written by Prince’s first ex-wife, Mayte Garcia. In this memoir, Garcia recalls the relationship between her and Prince–which spanned a decade. They started off as friends. As the years passed, she became one of his dancers on tour–as well as his muse. They shared a close, unique bond–and ultimately married.

I devoured The Most Beautiful in just a few days. I loved that even though Mayte and Prince divorced, she spoke of him with respect and didn’t try to write a scandalous tell-all.

 Prince was genuinely larger than life, so it was really fascinating to have an inside look on what he was like off-stage. Although Prince was a brilliant musician with a gentle soul, he had his share of demons. I only wish he was able to conquer them and continue showering the world with his talent.

IMG_0451

 

Leave a Reply

