ULTA hits + misses | April 2017

Today I thought I would share my thoughts on a few items I purchased from Ulta recently. Let’s take a look!

FullSizeRender

In my opinion, Micellar Water is the BEST tool to remove makeup. It literally acts like a magnet–gently removing all traces of foundation, eyeshadow and mascara–even lip color! Anyway, for the longest I’ve used Garnier’s Micellar Water, and I still love it.

The pretty packaging of this Pacifica Cactus Water Micellar Cleansing Tonic convinced me to try something new. Plus, I’ve heard good reviews of the Pacifica brand!

Sadly, I don’t think I will purchase this Cleansing Tonic again. Although it smells really nice and removes makeup effectively with its soapy texture, I found that it stung my eyes. Not fun! Plus, it costs $12– more expensive than my favorite Garnier Micellar water (and you get a whole lot more product for less money.)

Even though I wasn’t a fan of their Cleansing Tonic, I think I will give other Pacifica products a try. Anyone have suggestions?

FullSizeRender (1)

WOW! Makeup Revolution has impressed me once more with their Redemption Eyeshadow Palette in Iconic 3.

I am a huge fan of rosey-toned shadows. For nearly a year, I have debated on buying the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette. Although the UD palette is gorgeous, I couldn’t bring myself to drop over $50 for it. Plus, I wish their shadows were a little less powdery.

Would you all believe that this Makeup Revolution Palette is under $10 AND has better pigmentation than Urban Decay?! I am not joking.

I absolutely LOVE this palette–and wish I purchased it long ago. The pigmentation is just right–not too powdery or creamy. I recommend priming your eyelids first, though! The Iconic 3 has just the right amount of rose, mauve and even purpley shades as well as a couple neutrals. I can’t wait to use it more this spring and summer!

If you are looking for a LEGIT dupe of the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette, I highly recommend giving this one a try. It is SO much cheaper, and has unbelievable quality.

FullSizeRender (2)

I would describe CoverGirl TruBlend Blush in Light Rose as being one of those “no blush” blushes.

Instead of being just a traditional, monotone blush, Light Rose is made up of two different shades swirled together. The base is a peachy-pink color, accented with a hot pink shade. Don’t worry, it doesn’t go on too bold!

In fact, it applies very nicely on the cheeks, almost blending with your skin, bringing out your natural flush. Because I have a medium skin tone, I have to apply a couple layers for it to show up on my skin. With this being said, it is still worth buying! Since it’s not highly pigmented, I recommend using a finishing spray to ensure long wear.

Light Rose is a great blush to use if you are new to using blush. It’s impossible to over apply,  affordable, and is ideal for everyday! These blushes remind me of the MAC Mineralize ones–but are so much cheaper.

FullSizeRender (3)

I’ve used Laura Geller’s Spackle Under-Makeup Primer for five years now! I have to say that it’s my all-time favorite primer to use. The texture is just so dreamy! Spackle has a gel-cream formula that feels fresh and cool when you apply.

For the past couple years, I’ve used her Tinted Spackle. First, I had Ethereal, which is a bronze shade. I intended to repurchase when I visited Ulta a few weeks ago, but since they were out I bought Champagne instead.

The Champagne shade has all of the elements of original Spackle, except for a slight golden-champagne undertone. It glides onto my complexion with ease, leaving behind just the right amount of a glow. It just makes my face feel so nice and ready for makeup! Plus, it really does what it claims–Spackle makes makeup last all day long.

$30 may seem a little steep for a mere tube of primer, but trust me–Spackle is worth every penny. I especially recommend it for dry complexions. It gives you an extra boost of moisture and radiance!

IMG_0451

Leave a Reply

