MORE makeup I DIDN’T like + try this instead

Back in November, I did a post focusing on makeup that didn’t quite make the cut for me, along with better options. I really enjoyed comparing each product against the other, so today I thought I’d write another post with the same theme. Let’s get started:

I DIDN’T LIKE:
Milani Moisture Lock Coconut Oil Lip Treatment
TRY THIS INSTEAD:
Glossier Coconut Balm Dot Com

img_0374

I purchased the Milani item back in October. When I read the label, I thought the consistency of this lip treatment was completely oil-based with a thin, moisturizing texture. I’m always ready to try a new lip moisturizer, so I decided to purchase!

I ended up being very disappointed. The texture of this lip treatment was just like an ordinary lip gloss; nothing special. In fact, it didn’t even moisturize very well. It feels nice and glossy when you first put it on, but about ten minutes later the gloss starts to dry up and gather at the center of my lips. Kind of gross! Plus, this item is around $8–expensive for the drugstore!

If you’re looking for a GOOD coconut-scented lip treatment, I would suggest the Glossier Coconut Balm Dot Com Universal Skin Salve. I have had this item since summer, and I am still enjoying it! The texture is petroleum based, so it is basically like coconut-scented Vaseline with added oils.

Also, you can use this salve on your cuticles and hands–not just your lips! Balm Dot Com Comes in different scents, so if coconut isn’t your favorite, you can try another. I only wish these salves were flavored!

I DIDN’T LIKE:
CoverGirl LashBlast Fusion Mascara
TRY THIS INSTEAD:
Mary Kay Lash Intensity Mascara

img_0375

I was a HUGE fan of CoverGirl LashBlast Fusion Mascara like four years ago–I bet I used it for a year straight! About a month ago, I decided to repurchase and rekindle my love for this volumizing and lengthening mascara.

Sadly, I was so disappointed by this product! CoverGirl must have changed it. The formula seemed to be very dry and just plain ordinary! I’m pretty sure it flaked off the first day I wore it. That’s never a good sign! Plus, the wand didn’t deliver much product to my lashes. This is so strange since rubber bristles are good for that!

If you’re looking for major volume and length, I strongly suggest spending a little extra money on Mary Kay Lash Intensity Mascara. I have a friend who sells MK and she convinced me to buy this. I have been LOVING it since I first purchased in May; I’m on my third tube already!

The formula is really moisturizing; it is packed with vitamins to keep your lashes healthy. The wand is also incredible; one side has long bristles for lengthening, while the other side has shorter ones that deliver ample volume. It’s like getting two mascaras in one!

img_0376

top: Covergirl Mascara / bottom: MK Mascara (I know the wand looks clumpy; it’s time for me to repurchase!)

The MK Mascara is just an all-around winner for me. It delivers both volume and length without making your lashes feel dry and brittle OR clumpy.  A win-win situation!

I DIDN’T LIKE:
Maybelline Color Tattoo Eye Chrome in Gilded Rose
TRY THIS INSTEAD:
ColourPop SuperShock Shadow in Sequin

img_0377

When Maybelline came out with their Eye Chrome line, I was really excited; I loved the Color Tattoo Shadows that were in the pot, so I imagined that the cream shadows would be an even more awesome and metallic product. I picked up Gilded Rose because I’m a sucker for a pretty, light pink shade.

Once again, I was disappointed with this creamy whipped eyeshadow–while it looks so elegant and ethereal in the tube, it is just SO PATCHY when applied to my lid. When I blended Gilded Rose out, the color dissolved and I was left with this chalky, frosted white shimmer. Not my favorite look. I expected way more quality pigmentation! I bought this in the summer and haven’t used it since. Are any of the other shades worth buying???

If you are looking for a shimmery pink shadow, look no further than Sequin. It is definitely way warmer than Gilded Rose with a touch of copper in there, but I just can’t get over how gorgeous it is!

The texture is creamy without being messy. Although Sequin has a shimmer finish, it doesn’t look the least bit tacky. This is becoming a staple in my collection. I think anyone can pull this shade off!

***

I hope you enjoyed reading this post! A couple of the items mentioned on here are higher than drugstore prices, but they are worth the money. Happy shopping!!

cropped-img_3016.jpg

Leave a Reply

