My Top Three Favorite Foundations!

When I was younger, foundation was one item I was willing to spend some extra money on. I headed to Sephora and spent 20 bucks or more on a high-quality foundation that wouldn’t break me out! However, in the last couple years, the drugstore brands have really stepped up their game when it comes to foundation.

img_0177

Honestly, it’s been years since I’ve splurged on a high-end foundation that I’ve absolutely loved. Today, I thought I’d share with you all my TOP THREE favorite drugstore foundations at the moment!

IMG_0179.JPG

First off, we have L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Glow Foundation in Natural Buff. I first bought this item when it came out this past summer; everyone seemed to be raving about it. Turns out, it IS worth the hype!

Pro-Glow is a gorgeous foundation. It is very hydrating, so it would be perfect for those of you with dry skin. The texture is very fluid and watery. Coverage is light to medium, and you can definitely build it up to your desired coverage. I have combination skin; this foundation balances out my complexion nicely. I don’t look too greasy and of course not dry at all.

fullsizerender

Pro-Glow Foundation texture

To apply this foundation, I prefer using my Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. I submerge it with water, squeeze out the excess and then blend the foundation out on my face.

img_0178

Next, we have Maybelline Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation in Nude Beige. This is another foundation that is also worth the hype!

Despite this foundation being classified as “matte,” it will not suck you dry at all! It is the perfect “in-between” base; not too mattifying and not too hydrating. Plus, it does mask large pores!

img_0181

Matte+Poreless formula

The formula of Matte+Poreless is simple; not too heavy, but also creamy. It’s not oily, so you don’t have to worry about breakouts. It lasts all day and doesn’t get patchy! This foundation is a mere $8 or so, and you get a very generous amount. I am on my second bottle! It’s just a classic foundation that every girl should try!

*JUST A NOTE*: PRO-GLOW AND MATTE+PORELESS MAKE A REALLY GORGEOUS COMBO IF YOU WANT TO TRY MIXING THEM TOGETHER 🙂

img_0180

Lastly, we have L’Oreal Infallible Total Cover Foundation in Natural Buff. This item has just recently hit shelves, and is already getting a lot of attention. The problem is, the reviews on this foundation are very hit and miss.

L’Oreal claims this foundation is “total” coverage. While this foundation has more than medium coverage, it is not quite “total.” It is somewhere in-between medium and full coverage. The ad shows that this foundation can cover tattoos, but I don’t think the formula is quite thick enough!

fullsizerender-1

Total Cover formula

The texture of Total Cover Foundation is light and mousse-y. This is a perk since most heavier coverage foundations tend to be bulky. However, this foundation dries very quickly, so you have to work fast even when you dispense it on the back of your hand.

To apply, I squeeze a generous amount of foundation on the back of my hand. I start to blend it out to expand the formula, and then I start rubbing it onto my face. It can look pancake-like at first, but you just have to keep blending. When it is about halfway set, I take my dampened beauty sponge and finish blending it all the way into my face. The dampness of the sponge lessens the heaviness of the foundation and makes it seamless.

I think this foundation would work best for those of you with combination to oily skin. Total Cover is amazing because it REALLY stays on all day; I don’t even need to retouch with powder! Not a bit of shine peeks through my skin. It really does make my face look FLAWLESS!

However, I  would NOT recommend this foundation on days you are more broken out. I found that it really exaggerated my acne which wasn’t very fun!

img_6944

This is the loose powder I use when I choose to set my foundation–which is almost always! It is CRAZY inexpensive but really high quality! I will not be without it!

Hope this post will help you determine a new foundation to try. This just demonstrates that you don’t have to go to Sephora or even a department store to find a nice base. It is down the road at your local drugstore!

What is YOUR favorite drugstore foundation??

cropped-img_3016.jpg

2 thoughts on “My Top Three Favorite Foundations!

Leave a Reply

