Save money with these beauty DUPES!

One of the most exciting perks of experimenting with makeup is when you find a dupe for a high-end product. Splurging at Sephora every once in a while is super-fun, but when I find a look-alike for much cheaper elsewhere, I just have to share!

These are some pretty similar dupes I have stumbled upon lately:

img_0145

Shimmery, Rose Gold Shadow
*
Butter London Glazen Eye Gloss in Frosted /  $25
ColourPop Super Shock Eyeshadow in Sequin / $5

In the fall, I fell in love with Butter London’s unique Eye Gloss formula. I had never seen an eyeshadow that gave you wet, glossy finish like Frosted. I was happy with my purchase, even though it was $25. The splurge was worth it!  Frosted is a gorgeous, champagne rose gold.

Meanwhile, I bought Sequin shortly before Christmas. ColourPop’s Super Shock Eyeshadows have a thin, cream-to powder formula to them that is also different from any shadows I’ve ever tried.

Both Sequin and Frosted are stunning! They have minor differences; Frosted is more cool-toned than Sequin. Sequin has a coppery tone to it, while Frosted is on the lighter side with a champagne tone. Both shadows have a pinky, rosiness to them.

Also, Frosted has more of a sheen-like finish while frosted has a glittery finish.

fullsizerender

Frosted (top) / Sequin (bottom)

If you’re not quite into the whole flashy eyeshadow look, I would suggest applying Sequin with a synthetic bristle brush instead of with your finger. You won’t pick up as much glitter, which is more suitable for everyday wear!

img_0150

Red Wine Lips
*
Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Nori / $26
ColourPop Matte X Lippie Stix in Chateau / $5

A simple, red wine-colored lip looks gorgeous on anyone during the cold months. I picked up Nori after hearing rave reviews of Bite Beauty’s lipsticks. They are made from food grade ingredients, which is really cool!

The formula has a classic, matte finish while having even coverage. Plus, these lipsticks smell like lemonade! If I want more opaque, dramatic coverage, I apply Nori with a lip brush so I don’t make a mess with all the layering.

Color-wise, Nori and Chateau are strikingly similar, but their formulas are quite different. As I just mentioned, Nori has a traditional, matte lipstick formula. However, Chateau’s formula is much more innovative.

I would describe Chateau as the solid form of a liquid lipstick. I was stunned at how smoothly the formula glided onto my lips;  it truly feels like a buttery lip balm! The color payoff is out of this world; Chateau is packed with pigment, just like a liquid lipstick, yet it is in a solid form. One other point–I love the slim packaging; it really allows you to be super-precise!

img_0153

Nori (top) / Chateau (bottom)

If I’m being completely honest, I prefer ColourPop’s Chateau over the Nori, the more expensive option. I will definitely purchase more Matte X Lippie Stix in the future!

fullsizerender-1

Glitzy Highlight
*
Becca Cosmetics Shimmering Pressed Skin Perfector in Champagne Pop / $38
ColourPop Super Shock Cheek in Most Necessary / $8

I first raved about Champagne Pop in my December Favorite Things. I am still in love with this highlight; it is a cool-toned, white gold shade with a peachy undertone. Champagne Pop gives my cheekbones this healthy, sun-kissed glow without being glittery. It is one of the more intense highlighters I own, but it is well-made and worth the money. But if you don’t have nearly $40 to drop on a peachy highlighter, I have the dupe for you….

Try ColourPop’s Most Necessary cream-to-powder highlighter! Instead of having a white gold element to it, Most Necessary is more warm and bronzy–but still has the gorgeous peachiness.

fullsizerender-2

Champagne Pop (top) / Most Necessary (bottom)

Best of all, both highlighters are glitter-free, and instead have a sheen-like finish. I would suggest applying Most Necessary with your fingertips; it goes on more evenly and sinks into the skin nicely. But a small, synthetic stipple brush works too. 🙂

Get ready to glow for a lot less money!

cropped-img_3016.jpg

Leave a Reply

