TWO more MUST-READS of 2016

I know that we are five days into the new year, but today I thought I would share with you my thoughts on two more books I sincerely LOVED in 2016. Since I graduated in the spring, I have read nearly TWENTY books. I know–crazy! It’s safe to say I’m a book nerd, so maybe you will like the following books as much as I did!

light

Simon & Schuster

Another title for The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman could be something like The MAMMOTH-SIZED Ethical Dilemma. This novel kept me on the edge of my seat till the very last page.

Light tells the story of a young Australian couple, Tom and Isabel. After serving in World War I, Tom returns home and takes a job as a lighthouse keeper on an island off of Australia. One day, he meets Isabel. They fall in love and soon marry.

Both Tom and Isabel long to have a child, but their prayers have yet to be answered. One day, as Isabel and Tom are burying their stillborn child on the edge of a cliff, Isabel hears crying in the distance–a newborn baby girl washes upon the shore in a small boat, her father dead beside her. SO TRAGIC!

Isabel is convinced this event is divine intervention. Although Tom is supposed to report all the happenings on the island, Isabel begs him to stay quiet about the newborn baby.

Eventually, Tom and Isabel’s precious secret catches up with them when they hear of a young mother searching for her long lost baby and husband back in Australia. For the entire novel, I felt just as conflicted as Tom and Isabel.

They love their daughter, the embodiment of an answered prayer. But what is the right thing to do–return the child to the birth mother or continue to raise her as their own? M.L. Stedman takes you on an ethical and emotional roller coaster from start to finish. Can’t wait to see the movie and read more books by this author!

doll

Amazon

After reading The Girl On The Train this past October, I was eager to pick up another murder mystery-type novel. I heard good things about The Dollhouse by Fiona Davis, so I decided to check it out for myself.

The novel first introduces Rose, who is a disgraced journalist living in present-day. Rose isn’t in the best place; her relationship with her boyfriend is going downhill quickly and she is unhappy with her current job as a writer for an up-and-coming news outlet. She’s searching for a new story to tell, one that will add some much needed excitement to her life.

In between Rose’s chapters, we are transported back to the 1950’s and meet Darby, a plain Jane, small-town girl who arrives in New York City to train to become a secretary. Darby has a hard time relating to the glitzy models who live in the Barbizon Hotel For Women with her.

Soon, Darby meets Esme, a mysterious maid who works in the hotel, and they quickly become friends. Esme is eager to become famous, and Darby is intrigued by her ambitions. However, their friendship takes a dark turn one night when a murder occurs at the hotel.

Back in present-day, Rose hears the story of the Barbizon Hotel Murder and wants to find out what really happened.  Throughout the novel, Rose and Darby’s stories begin to intertwine, finally leading to a stunning conclusion!

Even though The Dollhouse is told in two different perspectives in two different time periods, it is easy to follow, yet gripping at the same time. I LOOOVED it!

***

These are two very different but compelling novels I read this past year, and have gone down as two of my favorite books. Hope you enjoy them as much as I sure did!

IMG_3016

Leave a Reply

