Affordable Lipstick Haul | Fall 2016

A few weeks ago, YouTube Vlogger KathleenLights posted a video about her favorite affordable lipsticks for fall. That girl could convince me to buy just about anything, so naturally I picked up a few lipsticks that she discussed!

img_3728

I ended up purchasing four lipsticks from the Ulta website. I expected to just keep maybe half, but I ended up sincerely loving ALL of them. SCORE! Who doesn’t love a good beauty steal? So, I thought I would share my thoughts with you today.

fullsizerender

First off, we have Essence Nude LongLasting Lipstick in Cool Nude 05. I figured this item was a no-brainer because it was only $3. I’m so glad I purchased. Cool Nude is of course a pinky nude shade with a mauve, slight purple-y undertone. If you’re normally hesitant to try a traditional nude lipstick, I would suggest picking this one up. The mauve undertone prevents you from looking washed out. Plus, the formula is so creamy but light, almost with a balm-like texture. The finish is very natural.

img_3730

In my opinion, the Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Colors are one of your best bets for a matte lipstick at the drugstore. They are wonderfully smooth, rich and creamy, yet they don’t drag on to your lips. I purchased the shade Clay Crush. I don’t own anything like it; Clay Crush is an apricot shade with a soft, tawny, brown undertone. (I hope all these adjectives make sense!!) It’s so gorgeous. I’m stunned that these lipsticks are from the drugstore; the quality is great!

img_3731

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting to love NYX Cosmetics Matte Lipstick in Maison. I thought this milk chocolate shade would be too dramatic, drag and apply unevenly to my lips. However, I’ve been drawn to brown lip colors lately so I decided to give it a shot. So glad I did! To my surprise, Maison glides on with ease. I don’t even have to use a lip brush. Plus, the formula isn’t COMPLETELY matte, so it won’t suck your lips dry of moisture. It doesn’t have a gray undertone so you could wear it on a daily basis if you wanted. Brown lipstick isn’t loved by everyone, but if you’re looking to try something different, I suggest buying Maison!

img_3732

Lastly, we have Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Rose Velvet. This shade is a pretty, classic rose shade with a slight, earthy undertone. It is one of those “your lips but better” lipsticks. The formula is comfortable and creamy with a natural finish. You can wear it with any makeup look–for everyday or a smokey eye! It also looks good with any skin tone. Rose Velvet has a permanent spot in my collection.

img_3727

From top: Cool Nude, Clay Crush, Maison and Rose Velvet

***

I hope you enjoy these lipsticks as much as I have! Since they all have drugstore prices, Ulta always has a coupon for a small discount. That way, you could buy two or three with no guilt! 🙂 Enjoy!

IMG_3016

 

 

3 thoughts on “Affordable Lipstick Haul | Fall 2016

  1. Deanna Mariol says:

    Love the shades of lipsticks. Especially Rose Velvet which really caught my eye! Thank you so much for displaying them!

    Deanna ❤️

Leave a Reply

