Makeup I DIDN’T like + try this instead

Today I thought I would do something a little different. It’s always fun to talk about cosmetics I love, but every now and then I come upon something that didn’t really blow me away. I thought I would share with you all today some beauty items that weren’t quite what I expected them to be.

BUT, instead of being Debbie Downer the entire post, I decided to include items that worked better for me. That way, you know exactly what is worth the money and what to avoid!

I DIDN’T LIKE:
elf Moisturizing Foundation Stick

img_3702

I first heard YouTube Vlogger KathleenLights rave about the elf Moisturizing Foundation Stick. Most of the time, we have similar tastes in makeup, so I decided to try it out. After all, you get a lot of product for around $6!
I wanted SO BAD to like this foundation stick, but it wasn’t the right fit for me. It was just too creamy for my combination skin and made me break out. I was so bummed! This foundation glides on so smoothly and has a very natural finish. But it ended up getting oily on me throughout the day.
However–if your skin type is on the dry side, I would recommend giving this foundation stick a shot. Like I said, I wish I could wear it, but it was just too creamy for me.

TRY THIS INSTEAD:
L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation 

img_6994

Since the stick foundation was too thick and creamy for my skin type, I like liquid formulas instead. L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation is a great one if you want to have a glowy, yet natural-looking complexion. This foundation is thin and breathable, but also has nice coverage. It doesn’t break me out either. I would recommend setting this with powder to make sure it stays in place all day!

I DIDN’T LIKE:
Smashbox Always Sharp 3D Liner
in 3D Gemstone

img_3703

Earlier this year, I included this eyeliner in one of My Favorite Things posts. Now, I have to back-track a little bit. At first, I loved this gorgeous lavender-colored liner that had a slight pink undertone with shimmer.
The more I used it, the more I realized I wasn’t a fan anymore. It swatched really nicely on the back of my hand, but it really tugged on my eyelid and was not as pigmented, either. There is nothing more frustrating than a dry eyeliner crayon that drags! 😦 Also, it was really confusing figuring out how to dispense more product. I just really don’t think this liner is worth the money. It’s a shame because I LOVE the color!

TRY THIS INSTEAD:
Sephora Collection Diamond Eyeliner
in Cushion Cut

IMG_3262

I know that 3D Gemstone and Cushion Cut are two completely different colors, but they have the same concept–shimmery eyeliner! This one is just MUCH better.
Cushion Cut is a black crayon eyeliner with silver shimmer. You would think that this liner would be really chunky and uneven, but it applies so smoothly. I wear it all the time! It’s not too flashy for everyday wear. The slight shimmer really brightens and opens my eyes. I have already purchased this item twice, and I won’t stop anytime soon!

I DIDN’T LIKE:
Rimmel Brow This Way Brow Styling Gel
in Clear

img_3705

When I bought this brow gel months ago, I thought I was getting a steal–just $5 to keep my unruly brows in place.
I used this brow gel for around five months, and to be honest it just did nothing for me! :(. It was nice that the formula wasn’t sticky, but my brows were out of place by midday. I needed something a little more tacky….

TRY THIS INSTEAD:
NYX Control Freak Eyebrow Gel

img_6942

Just a couple strokes of this clear brow gel keeps my bushy, wild brows in place all day. It really does get the job done. The formula is a bit tacky, but as long as you don’t apply too much, it is not too sticky My brows tend to be unruly, so it’s nice to have a product that genuinely holds each hair in place. Plus, it’s a bargain!

***

I hope you all found this post helpful. It’s always a bummer when you find an item that you don’t like. But the good news is, theres a ton of other options out there in the beauty world–you are bound to find something you will LOVE. 🙂

IMG_3016

Leave a Reply

