My favorite things | October 2016

It’s time for another favorite things post! Like always, these are items that struck my fancy in October. I have a couple REALLY good books to talk about, a TV show, and of course a beauty item. Let’s get to it!

Must-Reads

fullsizerender-3

So sorry for grainy pic..I get a new phone next month šŸ™‚

I know I am way late to the party on this one, but this month I readĀ The Girl On The TrainĀ by Paula Hawkins. I have read quite a few books in the past months, but let me tell ya–I haven’t flown through ANY of them quite like I did this novel. I honestly read it in TWO DAYS!

Murder mysteries usually aren’t my genre, but I decided to giveĀ TrainĀ a chance since the film is out and I always enjoy comparing and contrasting the book to the movie. I still haven’t got the chance to see it, though.

The story is told through three different women’s perspectives–the main character Rachel, the nanny Megan, and Anna, the new wife.
Rachel is a recent divorcee who struggles with alcoholism. She rides the train every day and becomes intrigued (okay, obsessed) with her ex-husband’s new life–his wife, baby etc. Soon, the couple’s nanny, Megan, goes missing and things start to get really twisted and suspenseful from there.

I’ll leave it at that because I don’t want to spoil the story! I will admit that the first fifty pages are a tad slow, but once you get past that, the story is fast-paced. I could not put it down! It’s one of my favorites.

fullsizerender-4

I’m completely switching gears here! Another book I read this month isĀ Wait and SeeĀ by Wendy Pope. I bought this book on an impulse one day after scrolling through the Proverbs 31 Ministries website. I am so glad I did!

Wait and SeeĀ is one of the most encouraging books I’ve ever read. Ever since I graduated college, I have been trying to figure out what to do with my life (along with everyone else). Having time off has been wonderful, but I’ve also gone through some antsy, impatient spells as well. This book has given me a tremendous amount of peace during my waiting season. Nearly every page is underlined, starred or dog-eared with pearls of wisdom.

At the end of each chapter, there is a little Bible study section where you read certain Bible verses and answer questions. There is also little journal entries to write in the back of the book. This really helped me verbalize my feelings and faith as well.

I STRONGLY recommendĀ Wait and SeeĀ to anyone. We all go through waiting seasons in life, but this book has really taught me about the beauty of patienceĀ instead of complaining about my situation. I still pick it up and read random passages. It’s just so good!

28409

Image Credit: Hulu

October has been a really eventful month for me, television show-wise. Season three ofĀ Jane The VirginĀ premiered last week (my FAVORITE show), I started watchingĀ New GirlĀ on Netflix (which is SUCH a cute show), and I discovered this new little gem…

I can already tell thatĀ This Is UsĀ is one of those shows that is going to around for a looong time. The writing and acting is just perfect. It tells the story of three adult siblings in present-day, but then does flashbacks to when they were kids. Each character has their own personality and vulnerabilities so it’s neat to see how they develop.

Each storyline is intertwined in different ways. You can tell that a lot of thought is put into each episode! This Is UsĀ is just a really well-written, thought-provoking, heartwarming show. I find myself laughing and tearing up each time I watch!

Beauty

img_3635

I received a sample size ofĀ Bobbi Brown Pot Rouge in Powder PinkĀ this month and have really been loving it!

I would describe this cream blush as being a natural pink color with a hint of brown and peach mixed in. It is not too bold or bright–it looks really natural on my medium skin tone.

fullsizerender-5

Powder Pink

The texture is creamy without being too greasy. It has a little bit of a glossy sheen to it, but I feel like it gives your cheeks a dewy, fresh glow. This blush applies very smoothly and stays in place all day. The formula isn’t too opaque or sheer, so you can certainly build it up to your desired boldness.

***

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post! I always love sharing my favorite things!

IMG_3016

One thought on “My favorite things | October 2016

Leave a Reply

