Fall 2016 beauty starter kit

It’s fairly ironic that I’m writing this post about fall beauty because it’s nearly 80 degrees outside as I’m typing this, and I’m wearing shorts, too. Haha!

One of my favorite things about fall is switching my makeup over to darker, more bold colors! There’s nothing more festive than a dark lip and glowy skin during the colder months. So today I thought I would piece together a small starter kit to transition your makeup into fall vibes.

1. Glowy Skin 

img_6994

During the summer, I use mattifying foundation to keep oil at bay on my face! But when fall rolls around, I like my complexion to be a little more dewy! I have been testing out L’Oreal True Match Lumi Foundation in Natural Buff for the past few weeks, and I’m really impressed by it. Even though it is meant to be luminous, it doesn’t go too overboard with that factor. It is not greasy or glitzy. I have found that it looks so nice on my combination skin; it has just the right amount of a glow and dewiness, and it stays put all day. Plus, it has a nice amount of SPF, the packaging is quality and it’s not too expensive. The texture isn’t overly creamy, so it doesn’t break me out, and coverage is about medium but buildable. This is a high-quality drugstore foundation if you’re craving softly luminous skin. I highly recommend!

2. Rose Gold Blush

fullsizerender-1

I love to wear more warm-toned blush in the fall! It gives my complexion some warmth without being too glittery. MAC Mineralize Blush in Warm Soul is one of my favorite blushes in my collection. I have had it for two years now; it’s about time to repurchase! Warm Soul looks beautiful on my medium skin tone. I would describe it as warm, pinky-rose shade with a tad bit of gold shimmer. Even though this blush has a sheen to it, it is suitable for everyday wear. In fact, I even think you could skip highlighter if you wanted to. MAC blushes are an investment compared to drugstore priced ones, but they are so worth it because they last forever. Warm Soul can be worn year-round too, but I especially love it in the fall and winter months!

3. Cranberry-Hued Lips

fullsizerender

I happily anticipate fall each year so I can finally wear my favorite bold lip colors. I break out my old favorites, as well as set out to find new ones to try. I ordered NYX Cosmetics Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in Vintage a couple weeks ago after scouting it out on Pinterest.

I would describe Vintage as a deep, cranberry red shade with a slight purple undertone. It looks so gorgeous! One thing I love about these liquid lipsticks is the texture. They are so comfortable; not the least bit drying, and they sit well on the lips. The formula isn’t completely bold and opaque, so your natural lip color slightly peeks through. However, you can still make it as bold as you like.

fullsizerender-2

Vintage has a demi-matte, creamy texture when it dries down.

The suede-like texture is truly unique. Ever since I fell in love with SoftSpoken a few weeks ago, I’m so glad I bought more colors. I wish all liquid lipsticks were as soft and comfortable as these. Best of all, they are really affordable. Can’t go wrong!

4. Warm, Caramel-Scented Perfume

FullSizeRender (7)

I feel like I’ve mentioned Prada Candy Eau de Parfum an obnoxious amount of times on my blog, but I just can’t rave enough about this ridiculously good perfume! I am now on my second bottle.

I’m just gonna say it: Prada Candy is the PERFECT fall fragrance.  It’s warm without being cloying and sugary without being too sweet. The main notes in here are caramel and vanilla, but Candy also has an ever-so-slight powdery note that makes it all the more elegant.

Each time I spray this perfume, it makes me want to curl up with a fluffy blanket and take a nap! It smells really warm and comforting. The staying power is very impressive; it fades a little throughout the day but lingers so nicely–that’s probably my most favorite thing about Candy. I will probably never be without it!

***

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post. These four products are staples for my fall beauty wardrobe–hope they will become your favorites too!

IMG_3016

Leave a Reply

