Hidden beauty gems worth checking out: fall 2016

Today, I thought I would do a post on a few of my favorite beauty products that I feel don’t get near enough recognition! I’m the first one to try a new cosmetic that is getting a lot of hype, but then I feel like there’s a lot of stuff that gets looked over–and is actually so good! Let’s take a look:

img_6945
In my opinion, foundation primer is one of the most important steps of a beauty routine. It preps the face for foundation, making it a smooth canvas. Mary Kay Foundation Primer does a really great job of smoothing over your skin and filling in pores. The texture of this primer is a clear gel with a matte finish. When I apply it to my face, it honestly feels like velvet! It doesn’t drag or ball up. It is worth spending $18. This primer is just a very simple product that really does what it supposed to–keep makeup looking fresh and in place–without being too fancy! If you are interested in ordering this foundation primer, you can contact my friend Sydney.

img_6944

If you want to go the extra mile to make sure your foundation doesn’t slip, I recommend powdering your face when you are done applying primer, foundation and concealer. One of my favorite products to use is NYC Cosmetics Smooth Skin Loose Face Powder. I know that the thought of applying translucent powder to your face can seem a bit scary, but trust me on this one! This powder is so finely milled that it doesn’t feel drying on your face. I like to pat it on with a damp beauty sponge; it really helps the powder sink into my face well. In fact, I don’t even feel it on! This powder is a great alternative to the more expensive ones on the market; it’s just around $4, lasts a long time, and is super quality!

img_6942
Because I have such thick, bold brows, it is absolutely essential that I use some sort of brow gel to keep them in place. In the past, I have used Benefit’s Gimme Brow to do the job–and I am still a fan of that product. But lately, I have been looking for a cheaper option. I tried Rimmel’s clear brow gel, but I just wasn’t a fan of that one; it didn’t do the job well enough.

Earlier this summer, I decided to purchase NYX Cosmetics Control Freak Eyebrow Gel. The formula is clear, so you will have to apply your eyebrow pencil if you want a bit of color. Nonetheless, this brow gel is a great, cheap alternative! It applies neatly to my brows and the formula dries quickly. It does feel the slightest bit tacky, but as long as you don’t overdo it, it won’t feel too sticky! I feel like my brows do need a little bit of tackiness to be able to stay in place. They do tend to get unruly at times. 🙂

img_6943

Lastly, we have ColourPop Cosmetics Ultra Glossy Lip in Fairy Floss. In the past, lip glosses have gotten a really bad reputation of being sticky and unpleasant. But within recent years, formulations have improved, and now they are way more comfortable!

I decided to buy Fairy Floss after I heard my favorite YouTuber KathleenLights talk about it. I would describe the color as being this ultra-sheer, beige-peachy shade. It is really pretty! I thought that since Fairy Floss is so beige-toned that it would wash me out. But the formula of the gloss is so sheer that my natural lip color peeps through. This lip gloss has a very comfortable, balm-like feel that is really moisturizing. You can wear it alone for just a hint of color, or it looks nice on top of lipstick or lip liner. However you choose to wear it, you can’t go wrong with Fairy Floss!

***

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post! Each product I mentioned may not be as well known as other beauty items, but they are SO worth checking out. Happy shopping!

IMG_3016

One thought on “Hidden beauty gems worth checking out: fall 2016

Leave a Reply

