My favorite things: September 2016

I cannot believe September is almost over. The months just keep going by faster and faster! As always, this post is about the things that struck my fancy for the month of September. I have a lot of ground to cover, so let’s get right to it!

A movie worth watching

Me_Before_You_(film).jpg

Image Credit: Wikipedia

Me Before You came out on DVD this month. I saw it twice in the theatre, and loved it so much that I knew I had to own it! I can’t say enough good things about this film. I read the book about two years ago.

Briefly, Me Before You is about a young, eclectic woman who takes a job as a caretaker for a wealthy quadriplegic man. The story follows how their friendship develops and the impact they have on one another’s lives.

It really moved my spirit, because I could relate to a lot of the feelings and situations Will is dealing with, having a disability and all.

When I saw how well the book was adapted into a film, I fell in love with the story even more! The characters are perfectly casted; the way Lou and Will banter back and forth is so natural; it’s like they aren’t even acting.

If you have reservations about seeing Me Before You because of the “tear jerker” factor, I strongly suggest you still see this film. Without spoiling the end, just remember that the ending of the movie is NOT the point of the story. The lessons that Will and Lou teach each other is something that we can all take to heart.

There needs to be more love stories like Me Before You! They don’t always have to be super sappy and cheesy. I honestly think both men and women alike will enjoy this film. Go watch it!

A recipe to try

img_3549

First off, I would like to apologize for my awful photography skills but this was the best my iPhone 5c could take of these cookies. SORRY!!!

Okay, back on topic. last week, I decided to try this Chocolate Avocado Cookie recipe that I pinned on Pinterest. The recipe came from this cute little blog called Sprouted Fig. 

I have always been curious about what healthy cookies tasted like. These have no flour, white sugar or butter and just a few simple, healthy ingredients.

I must say, I was so surprised about how much I loved these! If you are a dark chocolate lover like I am, these are right up your alley. I know that these little cookies look like mud pies–and they even smell earthy–but they are delicious! You can barely taste the avocado once they are baked.

The texture of them is different, too. They are like chocolate mousse whipped into cookie form. They are bouncy and light; not like a typical cookie.

So, if you are looking for a healthy spin on a really rich but delicious treat, I suggest trying these. I can’t wait to bake them again.

A good read

imgres.jpg

Image Credit: Amazon

I mentioned in my last Favorite Things post that I am a huge history nerd! Well, I’m back at it again with this month’s book pick, The Girls of Atomic City by Denise Kiernan. 

Ever since I was a little girl, I have had a strong fascination with all things World War II. I really cannot read enough about it! The Atomic Bomb has always been a fascinating subject to me, so I decided to read this book.

Much of the Atomic Bomb was developed in Oak Ridge, Tenn. which is not too far from where I am from. This made the book even more interesting. Atomic City discusses the role that young women (and men) played in the construction of the Atomic Bomb.

It’s just beyond mind boggling how the government was able to keep this project under wraps for so long. The young men and women who worked at the plant didn’t even have a clear idea about what they were working on–just that it was a BIG secret and they weren’t allowed to ask questions. Oak Ridge was a secret city; most people didn’t even know it existed!

Even though Atomic City is filled with facts, it still reads very easily and kept me intrigued. I highly suggest it if you’re looking for a nonfiction read.

Beauty

img_3582

I picked up Revlon ColorBurst Matte Balm in Sultry last week and it is quickly becoming a staple in my collection!

The color is so gorgeous. I would describe Sultry as a pretty raspberry pink shade. So perfect for fall! It would flatter any skin tone.

I love everything about it; since Sultry is a balm, it glides on so smoothly while having the pigmentation of a high-end lipstick! The texture has a bit of a velvety feel to it; the finish is matte. Yet, it doesn’t dry out your lips and has the tiniest bit of a sheen.  Best of all, it has a fresh, minty scent.

Sultry even stays pretty as it fades; after meals, a light wash of color was left behind on my lips. This tinted balm only cost around $7 and you get a lot of product. Can’t go wrong!

Playlist

Hope you all enjoyed reading this post!

IMG_3016

One thought on “My favorite things: September 2016

Leave a Reply

