Found: A pretty good dupe of Kat Von D’s “Lolita” Everlasting Liquid Lipstick!

Kat Von D’s Lolita Everlasting Liquid Lipstick will forever be one of my favorite liquid lipsticks. The chestnut-rose shade is perfect for fall, and it gives me a dark, nude lip without washing me out! The only problem with Lolita is it can be hard to come by. Last year, when it was REALLY popular, it was always sold out online and in Sephora. I ended up having to get a friend mail one to me from Pennsylvania! The things we do for beauty…

img_3563

Anyway, today I thought I would share with you all a DUPE I have just recently come upon for Lolita–NYX Cosmetics Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick in SoftSpoken! I first heard of this dupe through Pinterest and decided to try it for myself. When I purchased SoftSpoken, I was pretty impressed my the similarities of these two colors. I thought I would compare and contrast them for you!

fullsizerender

Lolita

I have mentioned Lolta several times on my blog! For starters, it is a brownish-rose shade. The formula is like a typical liquid lipstick; the texture is fluid and nicely pigmented. It’s not too bold or sheer. The only slight downside to Lolita is that the liquid texture can be drying sometimes. I suggest layering it with a clear balm on top! Staying power is moderate; it stays on nicely throughout the day, but it can start to wear off when you eat. I don’t mind reapplying it, but I make sure I’m using a mirror so I can control the product and see what I’m doing.

Also, the applicator is a small, traditional doe-foot shape. The perfect amount of formula is dispensed on it each time you apply, so you don’t have to do multiple coats.

fullsizerender-1

Lastly, Lolita costs $20. This may seem like a slight splurge, but it will last a long time!

img_3565

SoftSpoken

Now, let’s talk about SoftSpoken. Like I said earlier, I was pretty impressed about how similar this product is to Lolita. However, there are a couple differences as well…

Like Lolita, SoftSpoken is a really pretty chestnut-rose shade. The formula is a little bit different though; instead of being fluid-like, it is more creamy and has a slightly tacky feel to it–this is were the suede-like texture comes from.  However, it is not unpleasant! I feel like the tackiness helps the product move with you lips instead of drying completely down. My lips felt more moisturized than they did while wearing Lolita. I didn’t have to top it with balm.

The second thing that makes SoftSpoken a tad different is the pigmentation. While Lolita’s color is opaque with just one stroke, SoftSpoken goes on more sheer. I felt like I could see my natural lip color peeking through, which is not a completely bad thing! With that being said, you can definitely build SoftSpoken up to your desired boldness. It layers nicely and doesn’t get streaky!

The applicator is unique. It is small, paddle-like and the sponge applicator is tilted slightly upward. While this may seem odd, I felt like it made application very clean and even. Staying power is once again moderate–it says on nicely, but once you eat, it transfers.

fullsizerender-3

Lastly, SoftSpoken costs around $7. That is a significant difference from Lolita!

Closing Thoughts

Lolita and SoftSpoken are very similar shades with some minor differences. Both are in the same chestnut-rose color family. Lolita just has a touch more of rosiness to it, while SoftSpoken is slightly more chestnut-hued. I have to say that I am more of a fan of SoftSpoken’s suede-like texture. I found it to be more comfortable than Lolita!

When it comes to finishes, Lolita dries completely matte, while SoftSpoken is demi-matte; it’s not completely flat but it has more of a natural, suede-like finish.

fullsizerender-2

From top: Lolita and SoftSpoken

I hope you all enjoyed reading this post. I always get super excited when I come upon a dupe. Lolita will always be one of my favorites, but it’s nice to be able to save money every now and then!

IMG_3016

4 thoughts on “Found: A pretty good dupe of Kat Von D’s “Lolita” Everlasting Liquid Lipstick!

Leave a Reply

