My top “throw in your purse” lip colors!

Today I thought I would do a post on the four lip colors I keep in my purse. I have quite the collection when it comes to lip products–lipsticks, glosses, balms, and liquid lipsticks of all colors and finishes.

img_3541

However, I like to keep my selection simple when I’m on the go! Let’s take a look at a few of my favorites:

img_3542

First off, we have Revlon ColorStay Balm Stain in Honey. I find myself reaching for this lip product the most! I would describe the color as a simple, universally-flattering light pink. Honey has a balm texture, so it is so buttery and moisturizing without being too shiny. It looks so natural on my skin tone, and brightens up my entire complexion as well. My favorite part about this balm is the minty fragrance and cool, refreshing feel. It makes your lips feel so soft and supple. Definitely recommend!

img_3543

Continuing with the Revlon theme–I think they have the best lip products!–we have Ultra HD Matte LipColor in Seduction. I first picked up this lippie in June and it continues to be one of my faves. I would describe Seduction’s texture as a liquid lipstick. However, it has a unique velvety texture that’s like a gloss but without the shine…I guess you would call that a lip cream! Anyway, the color is gorgeous. Seduction is a nude, ballerina-pink that isn’t too tawny or pinky. The texture isn’t patchy, so you don’t have to apply many coats. Despite having a matte finish, it is very comfortable to wear. I don’t have to top it with a clear lip balm!

img_3544

The iconic Dr. Pepper Lip Smacker will always hold a special place in my heart; it is probably one of the first beauty products I ever owned. I remember collecting Lip Smackers in first grade; I had an entire Lisa Frank trunk case filled with them! Enough of memory lane…
This rosy-hued lip balm may seem like a total teeny bopper buy, but let me tell ya, it is still one of my favorite lip products, at age 22! This balm deposits the sheerest bit of rosy color to your lips, but it is also buildable. The formula is very moisturizing and not greasy at all. It also smells AND tastes so good! This product is a cult classic that deserves more recognition when it comes to good tinted lip balms–it only costs like $2!

img_3545

If I had to choose my all-time favorite liquid lipstick, it would have to be Kat Von D’s Lolita. Although the liquid lipstick trend is fairly new to the beauty world, Lolita is quickly becoming a staple in everyone’s makeup collection!
I would describe Lolita as being a brown color with a rosy, terra-cotta undertone. The fascinating thing about it is it appears differently on everyone. On me, Lolita is more the perfect blend of rosy and brown. On others, it appears to be darker. Nonetheless, I love this liquid lipstick–which is why I have a travel and full-size tube.
The texture is liquid and tends to be a tad bit drying, so I would suggest applying a coat of clear balm on top. It would also recommend using a mirror when putting it on since the color is bold. However, the staying power is quite nice so you won’t have to reapply as much throughout the day!

fullsizerender-1

From top: Honey, Seduction, Dr. Pepper and Lolita

   Hope you enjoyed reading this post! These are all colors that are easy to wear, and would be perfect for throwing in your purse when you need a pop of color. 🙂

IMG_3016

2 thoughts on “My top “throw in your purse” lip colors!

  1. Deanna Mariol says:

    Hi Lyndi! I love ‘Throw in Your Purse’ anything!! I throw a lot of goodies in my purse! I’m definitely going to check out a couple of the colors you mentioned…always looking for something new to try! Thanks for another great blog!!!

    Deanna Mariol

Leave a Reply

