Florida Room Inspiration with Douglas Elliman

One of my favorite destinations to visit is Florida. I have been going there for as long as I can remember. As a child, I swam in the freshwater springs of Crystal River. In more recent years, my family and I have made several trips down to Santa Rosa.

Visiting Florida is like taking a break from reality! Days are spent hearing the waves crash on the shore, sinking toes into the sand and of course eating seafood at night.

Global real estate firm Douglas Elliman has a wide variety of Florida living spaces that are worth checking out if you ever find yourself wanting to live there!

Since Tennessee is landlocked when it comes to the ocean, I thought I would share with you all how I would decorate a room to give it that laid-back Florida vibe all year round.

The first step to creating that Florida vibe is choosing the right paint color! To me, no color is more soothing than a soft light blue, like Agua Fria from Sherwin-Williams. This color isn’t too dark or too light; I think it’s the perfect happy medium. Even looking at it on screen makes me relax! Plus, I think it can make any room look larger and more spacious.

Personally, I think beige furniture goes so well in a blue room! This sofa and loveseat would look absolutely perfect! I love how they both have a quilted back and curved armrests. Such a classy look, don’t you think?!

From the moment I saw this light fixture, I knew it belonged in my Florida Room! It’s something that’s a little bit different than traditional lighting, yet it works so well. The draping shells just radiate beachy vibes.

You simply cannot go wrong with a super-soft shag rug! Again, the beige color will stand the test of time and will go with anything if you ever decide to redecorate. These rugs are so comfortable.

No room would be complete without a coffee table. I love this round one because it is nice and large. And, I love how it has two levels. Nice and modern!

I thought these two items would pair so well! This little side table is so quaint and cute. The shell lamp also coordinates nicely with the larger light fixture.

Perhaps my favorite part of decorating a room is picking out artwork for the walls! It just ties the whole room together. No Florida-inspired room would be complete without a couple beach scene shots. The first one is looks so classic, while I love the vintage postcard vibe of the second.

I decided to incorporate one of my favorite quotes into the room. “Everything in the universe is subject to change. And Everything is right on schedule” is a great reminder to just RELAX and let everything go, because it will all turn out okay!

Lastly, this golden sun mirror literally adds sunshine to the room. It is a wonderful finishing touch.

***

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my Florida Room inspiration. The key to decorating your own room is to keep everything balanced, open and relaxed. Light-colored walls, a couple pieces of furniture, beachy accents here and there, etc. As long as you are comfortable, that’s all that matters!

IMG_3016

Leave a Reply

