Five savvy beauty tips every girl should know

Who doesn’t love a good beauty tip or two every once in a while?

One of my favorite things to do is read the latest beauty magazines and watch my favorite YouTube vloggers to hear the latest beauty tricks!

Today, I thought I would share with you all five small and simple beauty tips that I have picked up over the past few months. I either read these in a magazine or heard them online. Nonetheless, I have tried them out for myself, and found that they really work!

1. A damp beauty sponge applies foundation flawlessly.

FullSizeRender (1)

I first heard the enormously popular YouTube vlogger Jaclyn Hill  rave about this beauty trick. I thought, “How can a little bit of water make THAT much of a difference to applying foundation?”

Ladies, using a damp beauty sponge to apply foundation makes ALL the difference! Have you ever applied foundation with your fingers, and felt like it just kind of sat on your skin while looking uneven?

To fix this problem, all you have to do is take a beauty sponge like the BeautyBlender or Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge and submerge it in water for a few seconds before wringing it out. I like to repeat this a couple times before I put on foundation. That way, the sponge gets nice and soft.

You will be amazed at how smoothly and seamlessly your foundation blends into your face. Really! It gives your skin just a little bit more moisture and radiance; all of your products lay on the skin so nicely. I can’t believe it has taken me so long to discover this trick!

2. Use lash primer to give your lashes an extra boost of fullness.

IMG_6633

Countless mascaras offer dramatic results–extreme volume, length, etc. While I do have several favorite mascaras that do the job–Benefit They’re Real!, Mary Kay Lash Intensity, Tarte Tartest Lash Paint–sometimes I feel like I need a base coat to help prep my lashes for mascara.

About a month ago, I received Lancome Cils Booster XL Lash Primer with my purchase. I am always looking for different ways to supersize my lashes, so I decided to give this primer a go.

I have been using it ever since! If you are looking for a way to bulk up your lashes, I suggest using a primer like this one before applying mascara. Not only does it condition them, but it helps any mascara go on more smoothly and it adds thickness to your lashes!

3. Applying a soft, shimmery eyeshadow to your inner corners really opens up your eyes.

FullSizeRender 

Personally, I think every woman should take advantage of this small yet genius tip; I feel like it’s been around for ages, yet I have just recently started to apply it myself!

Applying a small amount of a soft, shimmery eyeshadow to your inner corners does wonders when it comes to waking up your complexion. Two of my favorite shadows to use are Vermeer (a soft pink) and Primavera (a soft gold) from my Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette. 

Not only does it brighten your entire face, but the whites of my eyes look whiter and more awake.  All you need is a small, precise brush and a teeny bit of shadow!

4. Spritzing an eyeliner brush with setting spray turns any eyeshadow into an easy-to-use eyeliner.

IMG_6634

This is another beauty tip that has been around forever, yet I have just now caught on to it!

I have seen countless makeup artists use eyeshadow as an eyeliner. Although it is very practical, I always found that whenever I tried this, my line would end up looking patchy and not cute–I needed a way to make the line more even.

I noticed that my favorite YouTube vloggers would spritz setting spray on their brush before they put eyeshadow on it. This trick is GOLD!

By doing this, any powdery shadow is turned into a more creamy texture. This makes it glide on so smoothly! Plus, setting spray really helps the product stay in place.

5. Micellar Water removes deodorant marks from your shirt. 

FullSizeRender (1)

 I discovered this nifty little tip all by myself!

We’ve all been there–you’re putting on our favorite shirt in the morning, and suddenly you look and realize there’s a huge smudge of deodorant down the side of your shirt. You try to wipe it off with water, but let’s be honest. That doesn’t work very well!

Micellar Water has been one of my favorite products ever since I discovered it last summer. Not only does it remove stubborn makeup, but I have recently found that it removes deodorant marks, too!

All you have to do is put a generous amount of Micellar water on a cotton pad or cloth and rub it on the deodorant mark for a few seconds. Make sure you apply a little bit of pressure. Once the area dries, you’ll be good to go. The deodorant mark just disappears!

I hope you find these beauty tips helpful! They are quite simple, yet make a big difference in my routine. 🙂

IMG_3016

4 thoughts on “Five savvy beauty tips every girl should know

Leave a Reply

