ColourPop haul, round two!

A couple weeks ago, I made my second purchase of ColourPop Cosmetics! I was so pleased with the first couple things I bought, that I couldn’t wait to try more.

IMG_3369

Instead of playing it safe, I decided to get out of my comfort zone and try some colors that are different. I had a couple hits and a couple half-misses:

FullSizeRender

First, let’s talk about Ultra Matte Lip in Beeper. For the longest time, I have wanted to try a throwback 90s brown lip. It has really been coming back into style lately, especially last fall. I do own Kat Von D’s Lolita, but I wanted something without the rosy undertone. That’s just what I got with Beeper. I would describe it as a milk chocolate brown. I know it sounds weird, but I feel like Beeper has this slight grey undertone!

Speaking of Kat Von D’s liquid lipstick, ColourPop’s Ultra Matte Lip formula is very much like it. It is a simple fluid that acts like a stain, too. As for Beeper itself, I would only recommend this to people with medium to dark skin tones. Staying power is nothing special; I find that I have to reapply after each meal.

Beeper is definitely different from any lip color that I have. I’m still getting used to it! I feel like it would look better on me in the fall, when I wear warmer makeup tones. It would look good paired with rosy cheeks instead of summery pink ones!

FullSizeRender (3)

Super Shock Cheek Blush in Fox is my favorite thing that I’ve gotten in this haul! When I first purchased this blush, I assumed it was a pressed powder. After I placed my order, I did a bit of research and discovered that these blushes are way more creamy than they are a straight powder. I was afraid that I ordered too bright of a shade, but thank goodness I was wrong!

Fox is a gorgeous, coral-pink color. It has the perfect amount of pigmentation; it’s not too dramatic or too sheer. With that being said, it is easily buildable and glides so nicely onto your cheeks. For best results, I suggest using your fingers to apply instead of a sponge or brush; it’s faster and easier. Best of all, staying power is fabulous.It literally lasts ALL day with the help of primer and setting spray.

FullSizeRender (1)

I would describe Super Shock Shadow in Porter as this very unique, violet-cranberry color with gold shimmer. I decided to buy Porter because I have nothing like it in my collection! I know it looks super bold, but it’s really not that bad.

Like the blush I just talked about, this shadow is also very creamy. It’s more pigmented than Fox is; a little bit goes a long way! I would suggest applying Porter with a synthetic-hair eyeshadow brush and then blending it with your finger to eliminate hard lines. Once Porter is all set, it has more of a powdery finish that I love, which makes it not so dramatic. After a while, this shadow really turns out being a soft, blush tone.

Even though Porter is a little bit different than any color I would buy, I’m glad I took the chance! I think it would work well as an eyeliner, too. I will have to try that!

IMG_3370

Lastly, we have Lippie Stix in Aquarius. I have to be honest. I’m sad to say that this shade is a big disappointment! When you first put it on, this soft, caramel-nude is really pretty! It’s a practical color, and doesn’t wash me out! Plus, it smells like cake. The formula is lovely; very dense, balmy and moisturizing.

However, thirty minutes or so after applying, it all starts to go downhill. The pigment disappears and all that’s left is this frosty white blotchiness on my lower lip. It really is crazy! It’s almost like the color separates for no reason.

This really makes me sad because at first, Aquarius is truly gorgeous. I don’t know why it looks blotchy on me just shortly after applying. ColorPop should reformulate this one, because I love the color. I just hate that it has this one really big downfall.

FullSizeRender (4)

From top: Beeper, Fox, Porter and Aquarius

That’s all that I have for this round of my latest ColourPop goodies! Hope you enjoyed.

Have a fabulous day!

IMG_3016

4 thoughts on “ColourPop haul, round two!

Leave a Reply

