My favorite things: June 2016 edition

I can’t believe June is about to come to an end! This month flew by so, so quickly. I made several beauty, fashion and music purchases that I am happy with. For this month’s post, I just picked the highlights, but I am going to try to get around to blogging about all of the cosmetics I have bought lately.

With all that being said, let’s go ahead and get around to talking about my favorite things for June 2016!

Beauty

IMG_3350

After hearing a couple of my favorite beauty vloggers rave about the elf makeup brushes, I decided to try a couple for myself. This month, I purchased the Blending Eye Brush and the Complexion Brush.

Let me just say that I am COMPLETELY BLOWN AWAY by these brushes! Really! I had my doubts at first, because they are so cheap; I’m talking $1 and $4. I feared that the bristles would fall out and application would be streaky, but let me tell ya–I was wrong! The Complexion Brush is so plush and soft; my bronzer applies seamlessly. The Blending Eye Brush is wonderful too; it has just the right amount of stiffness and flexibility to blend out your favorite eyeshadow!

I HIGHLY recommend these brushes. The quality is amazing and the prices are simply unbeatable. I can’t wait to try more.

FullSizeRender

Up next, we have Mary Kay Lash Intensity Mascara. My friend just recently started selling Mary Kay and was telling me about how amazing this mascara is, so obviously I was excited to try it for myself. Needless to say, I am truly impressed with it; both the formula and packaging are really unique!

Let’s start with the tube. I really like how small and compact it is. And I love how the wand handle is concave on two sides; it allows you to securely hold the wand and apply evenly. You won’t have to worry about dropping it!

The brush is unique too; on one side, it has long, spaced-out bristles that are good for lengthening.  On the other side, the bristles are more spaced together and compact that allow you to pack on volume. I like to start with the lengthening side and then rotate to add volume.

I am also a fan of the creamy, black formula. It doesn’t make your lashes crunchy or clumpy. Instead, it makes them soft! Best of all, the formula doesn’t flake and it lasts all day! I recommend applying two to three coats to really see results!

I love this mascara so much that I’ve already told Sydney to put me another one on backorder. I highly recommend it!

Music

mm

Image Credit: Rolling Stone

You might recall that I first talked about Maren Morris in last month’s Favorite Things post. I know this is a bit repetitive, but I’m going to talk about her again. Her debut album, HERO, came out this month and it is a masterpiece!

I’m such a fan! Her voice and musical style is so different! I know she is classified as a country artist, but she has multiple influences. Her songs are soulful, bluesy, country–and even has a dash of pop in there, too. My mom pointed out that she sounds like Bonnie Raitt, which I can totally hear!

My favorite songs on this album are Sugar, Rich, My Church, How It’s Done and Once. If you decide to buy it, I recommend buying the deluxe edition at Target so you can get the bonus tracks. Bummin’ Cigarettes is a highlight! Every song on this album is so strong and catchy, with not one filler track. GO GET IT!

A good read

FullSizeRender (1)

Image Credit: Amazon

This month, I’ve enjoyed reading Eight Hundred Grapes by Laura Dave. It’s a very easy, light-hearted read for summer. It tells the story about a girl, Georgia who discovers  secrets about her family and loved ones.

For one, she sees her soon-to-be husband out with another woman while she’s at her final wedding dress fitting. But, it’s not what it seems! Then, when she goes home to her family’s vineyard to collect her thoughts, she discovers more and more secrets about her loved ones. I don’t want to spoil the novel, so you’ll just have to read! The book also does a nice job of jumping timeframes while still telling a cohesive story. You’ll like it!

Have a fabulous day!

IMG_3016

2 thoughts on “My favorite things: June 2016 edition

Leave a Reply

