My top four favorite nude lip colors

For years, I stayed away from nude lip colors because every product I tried had a strong beige base and made my medium skin tone look dull and washed out. Later on, I discovered the secret to finding the perfect nude lip product is making sure it has a pink undertone.

FullSizeRender

So today, I am going to share with you all my favorites! Best of all, they are affordable.

FullSizeRender (1)

First off, we have NYX Cosmetics Extra Creamy Lipstick in Thalia. This lipstick is incredibly rich and creamy, despite the cheap-looking packaging. It has a smooth, moisturizing feel. This pinky-nude is more of a warm tone with a tawny, brownish undertone to it. I will say that I do use Thalia more in the cooler months, but this color is suitable for year-round wear! Plus, the scent is fresh and pleasant. You also don’t have to worry about using a mirror to apply because it glides on so smoothly.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

I would describe Rimmel Lasting Finish Lipstick in Airy Fairy as Thalia’s cool-toned sister. Like Thalia, Airy Fairy is a pretty, nude-pink. Instead of having a natural finish, this lipstick has the slightest gold-y finish that makes it just a tad shimmery. With that being said, it doesn’t look frosty on my medium skin tone. This is one of my favorite go-to lipsticks for summer; it’s nice and buttery, and it smells DELICIOUS, like caramel. Can’t go wrong with that!

FullSizeRender (3)

When I first purchased NYX Cosmetics Lip Lingerie Liquid Lipstick in Ruffle Trim, I swatched it in Ulta and it appeared to be a rosy color with a slight beige undertone. I was pleased with the color, so I purchased. However, when I applied it at home, I realized that the coloring of this liquid lipstick was the other way around; it had a strong beige coloring with a soft rose undertone. I was sad that it kind of washed me out! 😦 But as it started to sink in, I got more used to the color. The rosiness really stared to show, and I was so relieved! In fact, Ruffle Trim reminds me of a more muted, softer version of Kat Von D’s Lolita, one of my favorite liquid lipsticks! I’m excited that I took a risk and learned to love this color. The formula is creamy with a matte, velvety finish. I would recommend applying a layer of balm on top so it won’t dry you out!

FullSizeRender (4)
Ok–I thought I would save the best one for last! I have only had this Revlon Ultra HD Matte LipColor in Seduction for two days, but let me tell you, I am so impressed with this product! When you look at this color in the packaging, it looks like a tawny-nude, like the Thalia lipstick. However, when I applied it, the color was the prettiest, softest ballet pink! I LOVE it. I would’ve thought that the softness of the color would wash me out, but it totally doesn’t. I know that Seduction claims to be “matte,” but I have found it to be just semi-matte, which is such a nice and neutral in-between. The formula isn’t too sheer or opaque, just really natural! It applies evenly and smoothly. There are just two very mild downsides: staying power isn’t that impressive and this liquid lipstick has a very artificial fruity smell, like cherry bubblegum. However, I feel these cons are worth looking past. Seduction is a WONDERFUL color. I recommend picking this one up ASAP!

IMG_3279

From top: Thalia, Airy Fairy, Ruffle Trim and Seduction

 So there you have it, a look at my four favorite nude lip colors. Hope you all enjoyed reading. What is your favorite nude lip product?

Have a fabulous day!

IMG_3016

4 thoughts on “My top four favorite nude lip colors

Leave a Reply

