Four amazing beauty finds I stumbled upon over spring break

Dear friends,

Before I start talking about this week’s post, I must tell a very sad story. But don’t worry, it has a happy ending!

Back in January, I thought I had found my new favorite foundation, Clinique Even Better Makeup in Neutral. At first, this stuff was amazing. It wasn’t too heavy, and it made my skin have a natural finish. I honestly loved it and even purchased a full-sized bottle. A few weeks into using it, I noticed that my face was breaking out. At first, I just thought the breakouts would subside. But they never went away. Alas, I came to the conclusion that as much as I didn’t want to admit it, my beloved Clinique Foundation was the culprit.

Since the foundation cost a pretty penny, I decided to return it to Ulta and exchange it for a different foundation. With all the hustle and bustle going on at school, I set out to find a foundation that could help with oil control. Nonetheless, I found one that I really like so far!FullSizeRender Not only that; I also found a really great concealer and BB Cream too. Today, I thought I’d tell you all about my new and exciting (and affordable) beauty discoveries!

FullSizeRender (1)

Like I said, Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation in Creamy Beige has ultimately replaced my old favorite Clinique foundation. So far, it has been a really good fit for my skin, which has been a little extra oily lately. At first I was a little skeptical of this stuff,because I thought it would make me look flat since it has a matte finish. But even though it has this finish, I have found that it still makes my complexion feel quite natural. No, it’s not dewy, but it’s not COMPLETELY matte either. Does that make sense? The formula is nice and thin. I would say it is light to medium coverage. It’s also buildable.  This foundation is a good for everyday wear; it covers blemishes pretty well while not being intense and heavy. Plus, it has good staying power throughout the day.

Lately, I’ve noticed that makeup sponges have been all the rage. However, I just haven’t been able to bring myself to purchase one of those $25 BeautyBlender sponges! Nonetheless, I thought the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge would be a nice substitute. I really love how it’s like three sponges in one: the sides help cover large areas of the face, while the pointy end focuses on covering blemishes and the flat end is good for covering around the nose! It helps my Fit Me foundation go on seamlessly. I have been washing it every week though to ensure I don’t get breakouts! I find that the sponge works even better each time I wash it.

FullSizeRender (2)

Up next, I bought Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin Concealer and Corrector in Light. For years, I have been faithful to Maybelline’s Instant Age Rewind Concealer. But, I read really good reviews about this one so I thought it was worth a go! So far, I am really enjoying it. The formula is creamier and just a tad more dense than the Age Rewind concealer. Having said that, it still feels very light and doesn’t crack or cake on. It’s very silky and almost reminds me of a serum but isn’t quite as fluid. There’s also a nice, mess-free doe-foot-shaped applicator that really helps you target imperfections. Plus, it doesn’t fade throughout the day or break me out. What’s not to love?!

FullSizeRender (3)

Over the summer, I fell in love with a deluxe sample of Clarins BB Cream. As much as I wanted to purchase a full-size bottle, it was just out of my price range. Lately I have been researching the best affordable BB Creams. Honestly, I couldn’t find one that was worth buying; the reviews were so iffy! One day over the break, I went to Walmart and was browsing the cosmetics section. I realized that I have never tried anything from Wet ‘N’ Wild, which is an extremely affordable brand. Ultimately, I decided to take a leap of faith and purchase this BB Cream in Medium. I haven’t been disappointed!

As the name suggests, the formula has a creamy, balm-like texture. It is perfect for those days you don’t wanna put a “full face” on. In fact, I slicked it on this morning without any primer and it has stayed put all day. It may be light coverage, but it does a good job of evening my skin tone and lightly masking imperfections. I would say that BB Cream works if you’re not a fan of traditional foundation. It’s not as heavy duty, but it is great if you’re craving a natural look and looking for a multi-tasker!

I hope you have enjoyed reading this post. I really wasn’t expecting to stumble upon such wonderful drugstore gems over the break! These products are such high-quality, yet won’t break the bank at all!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “Four amazing beauty finds I stumbled upon over spring break

Leave a Reply

