My favorite things: March 2016 edition

And so it is already time for another installment of My Favorite Things for March! Does time fly by or what?! Today, I just returned from Spring Break. I was lucky enough to get to see Elton John in concert about a week ago. It was fabulous! I have wanted to see him for years, and he was just as wonderful as I had anticipated. “Bennie and the Jets” was my favorite part of the whole thing!

It’s crazy to me that in just a few short weeks the ‘college’ chapter of my life will come to a close and I will venture on to what else God has up His sleeve for me. I’m hoping and praying I will get to continue to live here in Nashville; I love this place so much.

Without further ado, let’s get on to talking about the things that have caught my eye this month. As usual, I have some beauty items, a quick review of a book I just finished last night and a playlist. Here we go!

Beauty

IMG_2881

This past Christmas, I received this deluxe sample of Chloe Eau de Parfum from a friend. I have to be honest with y’all; the first couple times I wore it, I wasn’t so crazy about it. I think it’s because I had been wearing more vanilla, sweet scents at the time and this perfume is more fresh and springy than toasty.

A few weeks ago, however, things took a turn for the better. I saw that singer/beauty blogger Jessie James Decker had this perfume on her vanity. I thought to myself, “If Jessie wears this, it’s gotta be good.” So, I decided to give it another try–and I’m so glad I did.

I would describe Chloe as being the perfect balance of a fresh, floral yet sophisticated perfume. It’s not completely floral or fresh; rather, a nice mix. Perhaps my favorite thing about it is the slight smell of honey in the undertone. You start to smell the note as it wears throughout the day. It gives it a comforting feel without being too strong.

The staying power is awesome; just a couple drops last the entire day. I am really cherishing this sample. I’m sure I’ll consider buying a full size when I run out!

IMG_2882

I stumbled upon Valentina’s Home-Brewed Natural Body Mist in Sunny Outlook the other day in Whole Foods. I am a huge fan of anything ginger, so I instantly picked this up. I love the contrast of the different notes: ginger is spicy, yet lemon and mandarin are bright and fruity. They go together so well. I love putting this on when I need to relax. It really does help clear my mind! Since it is a mist, it doesn’t have the longest staying power, but that’s okay. It’s light enough to quickly reapply, or you can even spray your sheets or room with it.

IMG_2883

Lately, I’ve had a real fascination with liquid lipsticks. They are really having a moment right now, so I’m having fun trying all the variations. The latest one I’ve tried is NYX Cosmetics Lip Lingerie in Ruffle Trim. When I was examining the color in Ulta, it looked like it was a soft rose shade. It wasn’t until after I bought it that I realized how beige it was under a different light. I was nervous at first because I was so afraid that it would wash me out.

However, the rose and beige shades really balance each other out nicely. In fact, Ruffle Trim reminds me of a more muted, soft version of Kat Von D’s Lolita, which is one of my favorites. Ruffle Trim’s formula is very creamy but dries matte. I would suggest putting a layer of balm over the top so it won’t dry you out!

IMG_2892

As for staying power, it’s just like normal lipstick so you will have to reapply after meals which is not a terrible thing. These liquid lipsticks are really great quality while not being expensive. I would also say that they are a nice LipKit by Kylie dupe as far as color range goes. If you are having trouble finding those like me, these by NYX are a good comparison.

A Good Read

afteryou

Image credit: jojomoyes.com

Last night, I finished reading After You by Jojo Moyes. As you might recall, I included the trailer for Me Before You in last month’s Favorite Things post. This book is the sequel to Me Before You. It follows Lou in the aftermath of Will’s death and how she pieces her life back together.

This is the third Jojo Moyes book that I have read. I really enjoy her laid-back yet moving writing style. She is easy to read and I love the bits of British humor scattered about. I only wish that the book hadn’t ended so quickly. You’ll know what I’m talking about if you read the book. This little series is worth checking out.

Playlist

Last but not least, here are some songs I’ve really been enjoying lately. It is pretty country-heavy with the exception of Justin Bieber and Ellie Goulding. That “Life Is Worth Living” song really strikes a cord with me. I love it when Justin shows his sensitive side. What a talented guy. I really do wish him all the best!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

6 thoughts on “My favorite things: March 2016 edition

  1. Deanna Mariol says:

    Hi Lyndi! Giving away my age and I honestly don’t mind because I want you know that at 78 yrs. old I also REALLY like Elton John!!!

    Have a wonderful Easter Lyndi ❤️

Leave a Reply

