My favorite things: February 2016 edition

Hello, friends!

I have found time in my busy, busy school schedule to tell y’all about my favorite things for the month of February. I have a good mix of fashion, beauty and other fun things that I hope you will find interest in too. Let’s get right to it!

Fashion

FullSizeRender (5)

I got this faux fur zip up jacket from the brand Kensie for Christmas. Since then, I have been in loooove! For the longest, when it’s cold outside, I had just stuck to wearing my red puffy Patagonia jacket. Although I love that jacket and still wear it often, I was on the search for a more stylish option! I thought this was just the ticket! Because think about it–the faux fur is super chic and sassy, yet the collar and zipper makes it super practical and wearable. It just makes your outfit a little more fabulous! What girl doesn’t want that?! I will say that $99 is a splurge, but fur will never go out of style. 🙂

Beauty

IMG_2833

I am always on the hunt for fun, shimmery eyeliners. The other day in Sephora, I found this one–Smashbox Always Sharp 3D Liner in Gemstone. The color is so pretty; I would describe it as a soft lavender-grey with slight shimmer! It has a nice, pearly finish.

FullSizeRender (6)The unique thing about this eyeliner is that it sharpens itself every time you twist off the lid! Pretty clever, huh? Since it’s a crayon, it’s easy to apply and easy to conceal imperfections if you make a mistake. I do wish it was just a tad bit more creamy, but I do still enjoy wearing it. It really makes my eyes pop and look fresh! 

IMG_2831

Lately I’ve heard really positive things about the Philosophy Purity Made Simple Deep-Clean Mask, so I decided to give it a try. After all, I am a HUGE fan of a good mask! I have been using it for about a week or so; it’s gentle enough to use daily. Each morning, I look forward to using it! I apply about a quarter-sized amount of the thick, gel-cream formula to my dry face, work it into a lather and then leave it for about a minute. Then, I wash it off. I really love how effortlessly it slides off my skin. It requires no elbow grease! It is gentle yet effective. In fact, if you find that most masks are rough for you, I’d suggest trying this one! It leaves my face feeling clean and lightly moisturized. Your skin won’t feel tight or stripped. This mask is such a nice treat in the morning!

Movies, music and other important things to note

A couple weeks ago, the Me Before You movie trailer came out. Since then, I have probably watched it 30 times! About a year and a half ago, I read the book and fell completely in love with the story. Briefly, it is about a young woman who decides to take a job as a caregiver for a quadriplegic man. I will be honest and say that you need to have your tissues ready if you decide to read it/watch the movie.

As a person who is affected with a mild disability, I find this story to be important. In the story, Will faces some similar physical challenges that I too face on a daily basis. I’m not paralyzed like he is, but I related to some of the issues he faced–like not being able to get where you need to go because your wheelchair can’t go/fit.(I use one of those, a walker and scooter too!)

Nonetheless, I find it refreshing that Hollywood is making a story that features a person who is affected with a disability. Sometimes I feel like physical disabilities aren’t discussed enough, so it really thrills me that this topic is getting some light shed on it!

Lastly, we have my playlist for this month! These are songs I have been enjoying lately. Hope you will like them as much as I do….

Have a fabulous day!

photo

4 thoughts on “My favorite things: February 2016 edition

Leave a Reply

