How to achieve that natural glow on-the-go!

Every morning, I look forward to waking up and “putting my face on.” It’s true! I would say that I spend at least a half-hour applying shadow, blush and even mixing together my favorite eyeliners and lipsticks to create my own unique combos.

However, there are some days when I feel like letting my natural beauty shine through instead of putting on an entire face of makeup. Plus, it’s nice to be able to hit the “snooze” button every once in a while!

I was inspired by the folks at Glossier to put together a makeup routine that is colorful and pretty, yet still defines my features and doesn’t take a ton of time. Their beauty products are all about emphasizing your natural beauty.  I love how their mantra is “skin first, makeup second, smile always!” So, I decided to take on the challenge.

Best of all, the products that I use fit easily in my purse, so I can do a touch-up any time of day! Here’s what I have come up with:

Base 

FullSizeRender (1)

After priming my face, I apply a thin layer of foundation. Lately, I have really enjoyed using Clinique Even Better Makeup in Neutral. This foundation is great because it provides light-to-moderate coverage but still feels light on my skin. It does a good job of covering up blemishes, yet doesn’t feel cakey or heavy. My natural glow still shines through!

Cheeks

FullSizeRender (2)

To me, the easiest way to add a little boost to your complexion is with a cream blush. It gives you that fresh and dewy look.This elf Color Stick in Pink Lemonade does the trick! The baby-pink shade gives my cheeks a subtle pop of color whenever I feel a little ashy. There is a pearly finish to it as well, so its like having a blush and highlighter in one! Don’t let the boldness of this color stick alarm you; a little goes a long way, and it is creamy and easy to blend. Plus, it truly smells like pink lemonade and the compact size makes it simple to take with you wherever you go. It can also double as a lip tint, if you choose!

Eyes

FullSizeRender

Now that our cheeks are nice and glowy, it’s time to make our eyes pop as well! A sheer golden eyeshadow is my go-to for energized eyes. I use L’Oreal 24 HR Infallible Eyeshadow in Eternal Sunshine. The thing that I love most about this eyeshadow is that it’s not insanely pigmented; if you want, you can just have a slight hint of shadow on or you can keep building it for a more dramatic look. It is completely up to you. Also, it’s not glittery. Rather, it has a nice, natural sheen to it! There’s also no need to use a brush for precise application–just quickly smudge it on with your finger and you are ready to head out the door.

FullSizeRender (4)

No matter how natural or dramatic your eye makeup is, no look is complete without a couple generous coats of mascara–am I right?! On the days I’m going for a more natural look, I use Josie Maran Argan Black Oil Mascara. While it doesn’t produce quite as dramatic results as say fiber-based mascaras, it still does a wonderful job of curling and defining my lashes. The unique bubble-shaped brush delivers ample product to my lashes. Plus, the formula has a whipped texture and doesn’t make my lashes feel stiff and crunchy. Instead, they are soft and conditioned!

Lips 

FullSizeRender (3)

The perfect way to finish off this pretty and natural makeup look is with a sheer coat of tinted lip balm! Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Red Dahlia is probably my most favorite tinted balm that I own. The color is so pretty; it is a sheer, cranberry-purple shade. Although the color looks dramatic, it actually applies lightly. While I have found that other tinted lip balms dry me out or barely stay on, this one is very moisturizing and stays on pretty well. The texture is buttery and emollient. I have to admit that it’s a little steep for a lip balm at about $8 or $9 a tube, but this small splurge is worth it! It’s all-natural, smells nice and the color payoff is wonderful! The color is also buildable if you want to go for a bold look.

I hope you all enjoyed reading this blog post! Not only do these products help me achieve a really pretty and natural makeup look, but all of them are small and easy for me to travel with as well. Letting your natural beauty shine through is always important, and the right products and colors can help you enhance your features!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

Leave a Reply

