Trending now: liquid lipsticks

If I had to pick one beauty product that’s having a moment right now, it would be liquid lipsticks. Although this concept of a rich and creamy lip product has been around for a while now, more and more brands are coming out with their takes on them. Liquid lipsticks are so versatile; they come in a variety of colors, finishes and textures. Today, I thought I’d share with y’all the four different takes of liquid lipsticks that I have in my collection (so far!) Let’s take a look:

FullSizeRender (7)

1. NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Transylvania

I was sooo excited to finally get my hands on this shade this past fall. After admiring it for nearly a year on Pinterest, I found it! Anyway, Transylvania is a deep, violet-grapey color.

Don’t be alarmed by the intense packaging–it is actually quite wearable for those of you who have medium-to-dark skin tones. What is truly unique about these Soft Matte Lip Creams is the texture. As the name suggests, it feels very velvety soft on the lips and has a matte finish. To avoid dried-out lips, I prep them with a little balm before applying.

As for staying power, I have to be honest. This is not the product to get if you are looking for something that lasts all day long. After one meal, it fades and leaves a pretty wash on my lips, but all pigment is nearly gone. With that being said, it’s not necessarily a bad thing if you don’t mind reapplying.

The doe-foot applicator dispenses the perfect amount of product and it smells like cake batter. YUM! Plus, these are really affordable so you can feel guilt free when adding to your collection. I also own Antwerp, a pinky-coral that I love to wear in the summer!  

2. Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

If you follow my blog, you have probably noticed that Lolita has made a few appearances since I bought it a couple months ago. This wearable brownish-rose shade is one of my favorite lip products in my entire collection!

Despite it being called a “liquid lipstick” I have found that the texture is very watery, much like a stain. However, this doesn’t diminish my love for it! The matte finish is surprisingly natural-looking. It is also very pigmented, so I strongly suggest using a mirror when you put it on.

As for staying power, I have to reapply about halfway through the day, which is again no problem! It lasts through about two meals before getting patchy. When you do apply it, make sure your lips are clean so it glides on smoothly.

Like the NYX lip cream, I also own Kat Von D’s liquid lipstick in another shade, a raspberry-fuchsia pink called Bauhau5. I also enjoy wearing that one!

3. Max Factor Lipfinity Lip Colour in Angelic 

I purchased this product when I visited Germany this past summer! The U.S. doesn’t carry Max Factor anymore, so I’m always excited to experiment with other brands when I visit new places!

Anyway, I would describe Angelic as the perfect, everyday pink. It’s not too dramatic, but not sheer either. The creamy formula has a nice, pearly finish that brightens up your complexion!

Of the four liquid lipsticks in this post, Angelic is by FAR the most long-lasting of the bunch. There’s a clear balm that you apply on top of the color, and I think that’s what really seals the deal. I even had to use some muscle with my Micellar Water when it was the end of the day when I was taking off my makeup! It lasted through my 10-hour day. To be so Angelic, it definitely doesn’t mess around! (Hahaha okay that was cheesy. I’ll stop now!) :-p

4. Essence Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick in Show Off! 

I received this last liquid lipstick from my dear friends in Germany just a couple weeks ago. I can already tell that I will be wearing this a lot, come springtime!

Despite the coral-pink color being alarmingly bright, it goes on sheer, creamy and wearable. It brightens up my face, and even makes my teeth really white! The texture is very emollient and glossy, like a lipstick and gloss in one. Plus, the doe-foot applicator wiggles when you apply, so it allows you to have a lot of control.

The staying power isn’t too long, but again, the applicator makes it really easy to apply. Plus, it will look really cute in your purse or on your vanity!

Below, here are the swatches:

FullSizeRender (8)

From top: Transylvania, Lolita, Angelic and Show Off!

I hope you all enjoy reading this post! I love liquid lipsticks because they are really innovative. You get the classic look of a traditional lipstick, but with a new, fresh spin. More textures, colors and finishes. I can’t wait to try more in the future!

Do you have a liquid lipstick that you think I should try? Let me know if you do!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “Trending now: liquid lipsticks

Leave a Reply

