Face of the day: inspired by Audrey

When I do my makeup, I usually like to “play up” one of my features, whether it be my eyes, cheeks or lips, and then keep the rest of my face looking natural. Yesterday, instead of focusing on one feature being dramatic, I decided to try a more balanced and polished look.

IMG_2712

I was so pleased with the outcome of this experiment that I have decided to share with y’all how I achieved it. I love it because it’s very classic, almost having a retro vibe!

audrey

Image source: flickr

The look I created reminds me of Audrey Hepburn–her features were always perfectly defined and not the least bit overdone. Talk about a classic beauty! Anyway, here are the products I used to create this look…

Step One: Face

IMG_2726

As always, I prime my face first after using just a tad bit of moisturizer. For this look I used Urban Decay Brightening & Tightening Primer Potion. The cream-gel texture is cooling and soothing.

Next, I put on Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser in Neutralizer. This ultra-lightweight but creamy concealer helps cover my blemishes and add a bit of natural highlight to my face. I love love love it!

Then, I apply my foundation of the moment, Clinique Even Better Makeup in Neutral. Again, this formula is lightweight and easy to blend. I like that it has a natural finish, not too glowy or matte. The perfect happy medium!

To finish up my base, I apply a small amount of Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer in Medium/Deep. The best thing about this bronzer is that it is buildable and nearly impossible to over apply. I was afraid to bronze for the longest time because I feared I would resemble Snooki circa 2009. But this product has completely turned me around! It makes me have the prettiest sun-kissed glow, never too orange or overdone. Plus, it smells and tastes (yes I have accidentally tasted it) like chocolate!

Step Two: Cheeks 

IMG_2725

To achieve a classic, flushed cheek, all you need is two products! First, I use Milani Baked Blush in Berry Amore. As you can see, I have nearly used ALL of it because I just love it SOOO much. The shade is a pretty berry-rose color with subtle gold shimmer, not glittery at all!

For an extra boost of glow, I use my trusty Laura Geller Baked Gelato Lace Illuminator in Ballerina. The shade is a pretty gold that gives your cheeks the most elegant sheen. A little goes a long way!

Step Three: Eyes

IMG_2727
Perhaps the most iconic feature of Audrey Hepburn (at least in my opinion is her perfectly defined eyes. They were never too dramatic or overdone, just simple with a little bit of a cat-eye.
To copy her look, I first primed my lids with Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden, which keeps my eye makeup from creasing and/or fading.

Next, I used the shades Snakebite and Suspect from my Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette. These two shadows are just pretty basic taupes. I covered my whole lid with the lighter shade and put the darker one in my crease.

Then comes the Maybelline Line Stiletto Felt-Tip Eyeliner. This formula is good to use because it has a shine to it, and also it is easy to remove if you make a mistake. I have to admit that it’s not quite as easy to use as an eyeliner pen, though! I wish they could make it in that form. Nonetheless, this eyeliner is pretty good quality to be coming from the drugstore!

Lastly, I coat my lashes with about three coats of mascara. First, I do about two coats of my all-time favorite, Benefit They’re Real! Mascara. As I have said time and time again, this mascara is not shy when it comes to glossy volume and length. When those two coats are nearly dry, I finish it off with a coat of Essence Lash Princess Mascara. This just helps separate any clumps that may have formed, and defines my lashes one last time!

Step Four: Lips

IMG_2722

For my lip color, I used just one product: Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita. This liquid lipstick is probably one of my absolute faves in my makeup collection, honestly! The shade is a natural brown with a rosy undertone that looks so pretty on my medium skin tone. The formula is thin and watery, so you want to be sure you use a mirror when applying because of the pigmentation. It doesn’t quite stay on all day, but it will last through about half the day or so! Lolita has a pretty matte finish.

IMG_2713

I hope you all enjoyed reading this blog post! I have to say that this Audrey Hepburn-inspired look has to be one of my favorite “faces” I’ve created. She was always so classic and elegant. What girl wouldn’t be inspired by her?!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

6 thoughts on “Face of the day: inspired by Audrey

  1. Jami Smith says:

    I love this look Lyndi! Audrey is one of my all time favorites! Not only was she a classic beauty, her heart was so compassionate & so many of her quotes inspire women to be happy, one of my favorites is “…I believe in PINK, I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner, I believe in kissing, kissing a lot, I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong, I believe that HAPPY girls are the PRETTIEST girls, I believe in tomorrow & I still believe in miracles!” -Audrey…I love your blog, it is inspiring me to stop making excuses & start my on😉 Thank you, 💖 Jami Smith

    • Lyndi Locke says:

      Thanks for visiting my blog Jami! Audrey Hepburn was a great lady…Breakfast At Tiffany’s is one of my favorite movies. I so enjoyed meeting you the other day. Please let me know if I can help you start your blog. I remember feeling nervous when I started mine, but now it’s turned into one of my favorite hobbies! I think you’ll love it once you start! ❤

Leave a Reply

