My favorite things: January 2016 edition

Hello friends!

For those of you who are unaware, a big “Snowpocalypse” has hit Nashville. For the past couple days, my classmates and I have been enjoying the beautiful snow that has fallen. So far, we have gotten a few inches! Today I thought it would be the perfect time for me to share my January 2016 favorites with y’all. So, without further ado, let’s get started!

Beauty

Obviously it wouldn’t be a proper blog post without me discussing some sort of cosmetic. Here are the beauty items I’ve been really enjoying lately:

FullSizeRender (1)

Let’s talk about this foundation, Clinique Even Better Makeup in Neutral. I actually left the Laura Geller Foundation I’d been using at home, so this has been filling in for it! Plus, I thought with the weather getting significantly colder it might be better to switch to a liquid formula. I’m becoming a big fan of it! As the bottle suggests, this foundation does a wonderful job at correcting and evening my skin. I would describe it as being light-to-slightly-medium coverage. In fact, I do put on a tad bit of concealer before applying this stuff. I like it because the texture is very light and non-greasy. I don’t even feel like I’m wearing foundation when I have it on. The shade matches my skin tone perfectly, too! Plus, it’s very easy to blend. I will definitely consider buying a full-sized bottle once this deluxe sample runs out!

FullSizeRender (4)

Have you ever bought a beauty item, use it all, decide to try another something and then repurchase your old favorite again, wondering why in the world you ever strayed from it in the first place?! That’s how I feel about this Revlon Highlighting Palette in Rose Glow. I first bought this two years ago, and used it until it was gone. After that, I decided to try another pink-hued highlighter. Long story short, I repurchased this product a couple weeks ago. I forgot just how beautiful it is and how much I love it!!

This palette contains six different pink-hued shades, ranging from pale pinks, to peach, to even a very soft, shimmery lavender. I love to put it on my cheekbones on top of my blush, down my nose and even on my brow bone and top of forehead. It’s almost like it makes your makeup high definition, if that makes sense. It gives you a very soft, pinky glow. If you happen to put on too much blush, this palette does a wonderful job of softening harsh lines. This is such a high-quality product; I can’t believe it’s from the drugstore. Go get it!

FullSizeRender (3)

I received this handy stuff, bebe Zartcreme, from our friends in Germany a couple of weeks ago. Because the packaging is in German, I couldn’t tell exactly what it was used for at first, so I thought it was a really rich hand creme. My lips were really chapped one day and I was out of my go-to product, Carmex, which was devastating because that is the only thing that will truly cure my chapped lips. However, I decided to put some of this on my lips and see if it would de-chap them. Boy, was I in for a surprise!

Miraculously, my lips were healed and baby-soft after just one application of this creamy salve stuff! I was truly blown away! Like I said, Carmex is the only stuff that could heal my lips–and even then I would have to apply it multiple times before I was back to normal.

I’m really sad that Zartcreme isn’t sold in the U.S.! I’m already worried about what I’m going to do when I run out. Zartcreme is wonderful because it’s incredibly healing and moisturizing without being greasy. Plus, I’m a fan of the soft, powdery scent! This miracle stuff needs to cross the pond ASAP.

Movies/TV

jv

Image Source: TV Guide

On exam week, I decided that at the end of each day I would reward myself for working hard by watching a couple episodes of a TV show on Netflix. Although I am a fan of dramas, I just didn’t want to put myself through the extra stress. So, I ultimately decided on watching Jane The Virgin. I have been hooked on this show ever since!

Jane the Virgin is about a young woman who gets artificially inseminated by accident and how she deals with her life after that. It would take me a REALLY long time to explain the entire show (and I don’t want to spoil it for you–there’s LOTS of twists and turns)! so I will just tell you to watch it! I know that the premise seems drama-filled and quirky, but it is actually funny and lighthearted. It’s basically a lot of different genres squeezed into one show: comedy, romance, drama, murder-mystery, etc. Plus the characters are very likable and you will find yourself caring about them. I hate that I have to wait for new episodes every week or so. I miss the characters.

Playlist

I’ve come to realize that it’s been ages and ages since I last made a playlist. Here are the songs I’ve been jamming to recently. Hope you enjoy!

Have a fabulous day–and stay warm!

photo

4 thoughts on “My favorite things: January 2016 edition

    • Lyndi Locke says:

      Hope you’re staying safe in the snow! It’s so so pretty! Yes, check out Jane the Virgin, it’s such a unique show. The narrator is my favorite part. You’ll see what I’m talking about when you watch it!

Leave a Reply

