My favorite things: November 2015 edition!

Hey, friends!
Today I’m here to talk about my favorite things for November. I’m very excited about this post, because this month marks the one year anniversary of me starting my ‘Favorite Things’! These are always super fun to write. Anyway, let’s see what I have in store for this month.

Beauty: Natural Glosses 

IMG_2478

I’ll be the first to tell you that I LOVE wearing a bold lip for fall; I have about every red, brown and mauve under the rainbow in my collection. However, I have also been experimenting lately with more natural-looking glosses for the days I want to play up my eyes! These are two that I’ve purchased recently and have been loving:
I bought Nars Lip Gloss in Chelsea Girls after seeing YouTube Beauty Blogger Jaclyn Hill feature it on one of her videos. Chelsea Girls is so, so pretty; it is just a basic, natural peachy-pink. No shimmer, frost or anything glitzy. I also love the texture of the gloss; to me, it feels very lip balm-y and moisturizing. It doesn’t just sit on your lips. The skinny applicator also allows you to have a lot of control when applying. Overall, it’s a great product. It was about $25, which I think is reasonable for a color you can wear year-round!
The next day, I bought N.Y.C. New York Color Big Bold Plumping and Shine Lip Gloss in Extra Large Latte. I had seen this gloss advertised in a couple magazines and always loved how it looked. Each time I went to buy it, the store was sold out, so I was so happy when I finally found it! I would describe the color as a sheer, nude-caramel with a soft pearly finish–but not frosty! This would look good on medium skin tones. Although it claims it is ‘plumping,’ don’t expect major results in that department. I did notice a cooling sensation when I applied, but my lips didn’t feel too plump. Nonetheless, the color itself is very nice! The applicator is the exact opposite of the Nars one! It is VERY large. Theres a little dent in the sponge-tip that holds the product. I barely have to move the wand because the product comes out so generously. Overall, I’d say this product is worth a shot if you’ve been looking for a natural-colored gloss that isn’t sticky!

From top: Chelsea Girls and Extra Large Latte

From top: Chelsea Girls and Extra Large Latte

Pretty Eyes

IMG_2479

Along with my new Nars Lip Gloss, I also purchased this Sephora Collection Diamond Eyeliner in Cushion Cut. Let me tell ya, I LOOOOVVVEEE it and hope that it’s not limited edition! So what makes this liner so great, you ask? Well, it is a smooth, black crayon liner with the prettiest silver shimmer mixed in! At first, I thought I would just wear it for special occasions since it has glitter, but when I noticed how subtle it was, I have worn it just about every day! It adds light  to your entire face without being too costume-y. I noticed that Sephora did have a few different shades in this. I can’t wait to go back and try more! If you’re looking for a new way to make your eyes pop, this is the way to go. Plus, it lasts all day and the shimmer doesn’t travel. Let’s face it, we’re in a win-win situation here! 🙂

FullSizeRender (11)

Sephora Collection Diamond Eyeliner in Cushion Cut

Lush Lashes

FullSizeRender (12)

I’d heard a lot of good things about Maybelline Lash Sensational Full Fan Effect Mascara, so of course I was excited to give it a try. To be honest, I’ve been pairing it with my Benefit They’re Real Mascara. These two make a fabulous dynamic duo! For those of you who don’t know, They’re Real! is a very intense mascara. The formula is jet black and shiny, and volumizes and lengthens lashes to the max. Lash Sensational is a good topcoat; the formula is also very wet and makes lashes shiny. Plus, the wand is curved with tons of bristles so lashes are coated evenly. My lashes stay curled and lengthened all day long! I need to experiment more with this mascara to see how it does on its own. I will report back!

Music: Old Dominion, Meat And Candy 

image source: Rolling Stone

image source: Rolling Stone

I’m just gonna say it plain and simple. Go out and buy this album!!!! For the past week and a half I have basically worn this album out–I’ve been listening to it non-stop. Earlier this year when I heard Old Dominion’s single Break Up With Him, I knew these guys had something special. I was excited when the full album finally dropped. EVERY song is good. Their lyrics are playful and catchy while still being meaningful. My favorites on the album are Wrong Turns, Beer Can In A Truck Bed, Break Up With Him, Said Nobody and Song For Another Time. These guys seem so nice and that they genuinely enjoy performing the songs  (and they write them all, too!) Get this album, you won’t regret it!!!!

~Magical Moment~ 

IMG_2459

You guys!!! Last week the coolest thing happened to me and my friend. I thought it was worth telling y’all about…last Wednesday night, we had gone to the movies to see the new James Bond movie, Spectre (which was sooo good by the way!) When the movie got out around 11 p.m. my friend and I were by the restrooms when we saw ROCK LEGEND Steven Tyler looking at a movie poster across from us! We both got really starstruck but just decided to leave him alone because it was late and we thought he didn’t wanna be bothered.
Anyway, we get outside and ultimately run into him on the sidewalk in front of the theater! This guy is so friendly–he started the conversation with us! He gave us chestnuts to eat (random, I know) and even read us a lyric he had typed in his phone.
Nonetheless, I have this cool picture to remember this experience by. Never in a million years would I have ever thought I’d meet Steven Tyler, the lead singer of Aerosmith at the movies…he even sat behind us, and we didn’t even know until he told us himself! The world is really small, y’all.

Anyway, I hope you all enjoyed this lengthy blog post! I can’t believe it’s been a year since I’ve started ‘My Favorite Things.’ What are some cool things you have stumbled upon this month?

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “My favorite things: November 2015 edition!

  1. Deanna Mariol says:

    I have to tell you that when I see you have written a new blog I can hardly wait to read it! Your blogs are so much fun and filled with ‘happy’! You don’t leave out a thing! I love it!! Wishing you an awesome Thanksgiving! 🦃

Leave a Reply

