Trending now: skincare masks

Hey, friends!

Today I thought I’d share with y’all reviews of three skincare masks I’ve tried lately. We all used to think of a skincare mask as some goopy, sticky substance you’d slap on your face to get some added beauty benefits. Usually, they’d come as murky, green stuff and leave your skin feeling tight–not the most pleasant thing in the world! Fortunately, many skincare lines have come up with multiple renditions of masks–muds, gels, paper masks, you name it. Here are three affordable ones that caught my eye. Let’s get started!

Image-1

First off, we have this Freeman Rose Brightening Facial Paper Mask. Just the description alone convinced me to buy this product. A paper mask seemed like something out of the ordinary when it came to skincare, so I thought I’d give this one a try. Plus, roses have long been considered as having skincare benefits as well. I had high hopes for this paper mask, and unfortunately I was let down. After washing my face, I unfolded the paper mask and attempted to smoothly apply it to my face in one graceful motion. However, it was WAYY too big and clung awkwardly to my face. I was expecting the scent to be as elegant as a bouquet of roses, when in fact it smelled like a cheap baby wipe. GROSS! After five minutes or so, I removed the mask and was left with a sticky, oily reside. I rinsed off and was expecting my complexion to be brightened and smooth, but I didn’t notice any difference. 😦 I will not be buying this product again. It was a letdown!

I bought another Freeman product a few weeks ago at Ulta, hoping that I would have a better experience. Their Avocado & Oatmeal Clay Mask was in Allure Magazine’s Best of Beauty list so I hoped this purchase would be a good decision. IT WAS! This mint green clay delivers satisfying results–it cleans deep and clears out clogged pores, just as it claims. About twice a week, I apply a generous amount to my face, let it sit until it dries and then rinse in the shower. Despite it being a fairly thick clay, it rinses off nice and smooth with no tacky residue. My complexion feels soft and revitalized after each use! I would definitely buy this product again. Very nice quality while still having a reasonable price!

Lastly, we have this Nugg Hydrating Face Mask. I picked this up at Ulta yesterday while in the checkout line. The pod packaging just looked so cute and convenient,  so I couldn’t resist! Later on, I tested it out. The formula is different from anything I’ve tried; Instead of being opaque, it was a white gel-cream that went on clear. After cleansing my face as usual, I gently applied it using circular motions. I know that each pod is probably meant for single-use, but I only used half the pod. Anyway, despite containing oils, this mask is surprisingly light and non-greasy! I left the mask on for about six minutes and was SO pleased with the way my face felt afterward–supple, radiant and moisturized! This product is definitely the thing to buy if you are looking for an extra boost of hydration. I can’t wait to use this in the fall and winter months!

I hope this post will help you discover the right skincare mask for you. Do you have a favorite mask you’ve been using lately? If so, please let me know! 🙂

Have a fabulous day!

photo

Leave a Reply

