Review: Benefit They’re Real! Mascara + EASY removal method

Hey, friends!

If you happen to pick up any beauty magazine, you will probably notice that Benefit Cosmetics’ They’re Real! Mascara is always at the top of any awards list. This acclaimed mascara claims to do it all–lengthens, volumizes and separates your lashes while causing zero clumps. Basically the perfect product, right? Well, I finally decided to jump on the bandwagon and buy a full size after testing out a trial size for a bit. Nonetheless, I’m impressed!

photo 1

Like I said, this mascara does a wonderful job of transforming my short, slightly wimpy lashes into a dramatic, fabulous fringe. The elongated, rubbery bristles really grabs my lashes and distributes the perfect amount of product onto them. To get an ample amount of volume and length, I suggest wiggling the wand from root to tip of your lashes (it also says that on the package)! The spikey little ball at the end of the wand is perfect for reaching those itty bitty corner lashes and smoothing any clumps that might pop up while brushing on multiple coats of mascara. Personally, I like applying 2 to 3 coats!

Perhaps my favorite part of this product is the inky, patent-black shine it gives your lashes. I just love the dark, lacquered perfection of the formula. It makes your eyes pop!

HOWEVER, there is one complaint that I have heard customers complain about with this mascara. Quite frankly, I will admit that this one complaint has been what has stopped me from purchasing They’re Real! up until now. What’s the problem??

“The mascara is SO HARD to remove!”

They’re Real! delivers dramatic results for your lashes. As a result, the removal process is equally as dramatic. Talk about pulling and tugging on your eyes. It seems like it takes hours to finally get it off! These two products will come to your rescue…

photo 2

Even though Benefit sells a lotion eye makeup remover to correspond with the They’re Real Mascara, I read reviews about it and some people claimed that it still didn’t help. Plus, the cost was a little bit high for me. So, I went to my beauty vanity to hopefully find a cheaper solution. AND I DID!

All you need is :

Simple Cleansing Micellar Water
and
Neutrogena Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover

>Both found at the drugstore!<

{NOTE: I have the WALMART dupe pictured here. Any Neutrogena dupe works perfectly. 🙂 }

To easily remove They’re Real! Mascara, all you have to do is drench a cotton pad with equal parts of the Cleansing Water and Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover. Hold to lashes for about 15-25 seconds while gently moving the cotton pad up and down.  The mascara will magically come off. No scrubbing needed!  I also suggest gently patting your lashes dry with a tissue to make sure none of the product gets in your eye. This also gets rid of any residue that may get left behind!

I really hope this helps if you find that you also struggle with removing this mascara. The method is easy, non-greasy and inexpensive.

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “Review: Benefit They’re Real! Mascara + EASY removal method

  1. connie@salonpf says:

    I use They’re Real pretty much everyday. But I layer it with BadGal Lash for more oomph. I’ve never had an issue with removal, though. Peter Thomas Roth Gentle Foaming Cleanser takes off every little bit of makeup without drying the crap out of my skin or making me break out. A little on the stupidly over priced side, but I’ve yet to find anything I love as much.

Leave a Reply

