Sheer genius: light lip colors to try this summer

Hey, friends!
It is no secret that I am a HUGE fan of lipstick. I love the little boost of confidence it gives me when I slick it on! With temps rising in the summer months, however, sometimes lipstick can seem a little thick and bulky (especially during the day). Lately I’ve been wearing three products with a lighter consistency and texture. These are perfect for the days when you opt for a sheer wash of color!

photo 2

First, we have Lip Smackers Dr. Pepper Balm. This has been a favorite of mine for years and years! I remember carrying a tube around with me in my forth grade binder! I love just about everything about it. The balm smells just exactly like Dr. Pepper, so bubbly and sweet. Perhaps the best part is the natural, sheer tint of berry-rose color it leaves behind on your lips! The texture is smooth and buttery! Each tube costs around $2, so you can afford to have one in your car, desk, bedside table…wherever you please!

Up next, we have Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balm in Red Dahlia. Honestly I just purchased this today but I’m already a fan! This emollient balm is 100 percent natural, so without a doubt it’s packed with good-for-you ingredients. I would describe the color as a very sheer fig with just a touch of brown mixed in. It looks very natural on your lips. One tube was around $9, so it’s a little bit steep for a balm but I do think it’s worth the price!

Lastly, we have Rimmel London Lip Lacquer in Celestial. If you’re looking for a little bit more pigmentation while still looking natural, this product is right up your alley. Even though this gloss is called a “lacquer,” it’s not tacky like you may think. This pinky-rose color will flatter everyone. A single coat deposits the prettiest pink sheen on your lips without being sticky. Plus, it smells like strawberries, which is fun!

Before I go, I thought I’d offer a little tip. Before applying these products, I would recommend exfoliating your lips with a toothbrush or gentle grainy scrub. I tried all of these before without exfoliating first and I found that my lips were a little dry and flaky around the edges. After I exfoliated, I found that all of them applied more smoothly and each pigment popped a little more. 🙂

Here are swatches:

From top: Dr. Pepper, Red Dahlia and Celestial

From top: Dr. Pepper, Red Dahlia and Celestial

Hope you enjoyed reading this post! These colors may not be as pigmented as traditional lipstick, but that doesn’t mean they aren’t just as fierce looking. 😉

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “Sheer genius: light lip colors to try this summer

Leave a Reply

