May 2015 beauty report!

Hey, friends!

Today I’m here to talk about my beauty purchases for May. Here they are!

photo 2 (1)

First off, we have Laura Geller Balance ‘N’ Brighten Foundation in Medium. With the temperature quickly rising, I decided to make a change to my foundation. I feel like creamier ones tend to slide off your face when it’s hot outside! This product is very unique–it may look like a powder, but it actually starts its life as a cream and is then baked into a powder texture. But don’t worry, this foundation doesn’t make you look dry or ashy at all. I use Sephora’s Mineral Powder Brush to apply to ensure smooth and even application. This foundation leaves a smooth, natural finish perfect for summer!

Around Christmastime, I tried Real Techniques’ Large Powder Brush and loved it so much that I couldn’t wait to try another one of their brushes. At Ulta the other day, I decided to purchase the Blush Brush. Once again, I am so impressed by this brand. The blush brush is so soft, light, and most of all, high-quality! I’m a big fan of the elongated, oval-shaped bristles. It makes it really simple for you to apply blush precisely and smoothly. If you are looking for an affordable makeup brush, definitely go with Real Techniques. They do not disappoint!

I have to admit that I am a huge blush fan–I have a color for just about every mood and occasion! In the summer months, I love to wear cream blush. It is lighter then powder alone and looks very fresh! I bought this Ulta Lip & Cheek Stick in Peachy the other day and it has been one of my favorite beauty buys for this summer! It is the PERFECT balance of peach and pink with the slightest bit of gold mixed in. VERY VERY PRETTY! The texture is sheer and smooth. The creaminess is also just right–it is not so emollient that it feels like it will slide off your face. I love to layer this with a little bit of Milani Baked Blush in Luminoso. The colors complement each other so nicely!

Here's a swatch of Peachy. So summery and pretty!

Here’s a swatch of Peachy. So summery and pretty!

Lastly, we have elf Makeup Mist & Set Spray. For the past couple of years I have been loyal to Urban Decay’s All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray. I have noticed that some affordable brands have come out with their own versions lately so I wanted to put this elf one to the test. Sadly, it doesn’t quite measure up to how good Urban Decay’s is. After spraying this liberally on my face, I feel like my makeup faded halfway throughout the day. I was disappointed. 😦  If anything, it does have a nice cooling feeling when you apply it. I’m curious to see if the NYX Setting Spray works any better! I am always looking for affordable alternatives for high-end products. Who doesn’t love a good steal?!

Hope you enjoy this beauty report! What are your favorite beauty buys for May?

Have a fabulous day!

photo

Leave a Reply

