My favorite things: April edition!

Hey friends!

So sorry it’s taken me an eternity to write this post. I’ve been so busy with classes/finals that I haven’t really gotten the chance to write until today. Let’s just cut to the chase–here are the things that struck my fancy in April!

{Beauty}

photo 1

A couple of weeks ago I had to say RIP to my old bronzer because it shattered out of the blue. Although I was saddened about this occurrence, I was actually excited at the thought of trying a new bronzer. Typical beauty junkie behavior! I have mentioned before that bronzer is the one cosmetic that I’m a little scared to try. I’m always afraid I’ll over apply and look like Snooki circa 2009! After doing research, I purchased Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Matte Bronzer in Chocolate (Medium/Deep). Y’ALL. Let me just say that I’m IN LOVE. Everything about this product is decadent! The packaging is sturdy and regal. And the bronzer actually smells and tastes like real chocolate! I tasted it by accident when some fell on my lip. 🙂 What is great about this stuff is that it is gradual. You don’t have to worry about it going on too heavily. I swirl a large powder brush in it using small circular motions. Most importantly, the finish is natural and matte, like you’ve been kissed by the sun.

~I love this bronzer!~

~I love this bronzer!~

photo 3

Up next, we have NYX Skin Elixir Balance Tea Tree. Honestly, the word “elixir” alone persuaded me to buy this product. It just sounds really majestic, don’t you think? Anyway, let’s talk about this stuff.. Most of you know that I have been faithful to my Laura Geller Spackle Primer for going on three years now. I LOVE the stuff, and knew I was never going to try another primer again. Turns out that I made an exception with this product! It’s quite interesting. I read on the back that it was a serum and primer in one, so naturally I put it under my makeup. I have to say that it does work pretty well; my makeup was still in tact by the end of the day. The texture is a cross between lotion and gel. It has a unique, minty smell, almost like IcyHot (but disappears within seconds). As you can see in the picture, it leaves a fresh, glowy finish to my skin, which I love! With all this being said, I’d say it’s a really great product if you are looking for a moderately priced primer–it does the job! However, Laura Geller is still my forever favorite, but this stuff is definitely worth the buy. 🙂

{A good read}

photo 2

I have always been an avid reader, and I especially love to read historical and biographical books. I think it’s interesting to read about people’s lives. I received Brooke Shields’ new book There Was a Little Girl for Easter and quickly read it in about a week. In the book, Brooke discusses her complicated relationship with her mother, who was an alcoholic. It was a fascinating but melancholy story. Brooke and her mother loved each other but the addiction definitely put a strain on things. It was compelling to discover how Brooke dealt with all that. It makes you look at her in a different way–just because you are a star doesn’t mean your life is shiny and happy all the time. Nonetheless, this book is worth a read.

{Playlist}

Finally, here’s my playlist for the month of April! It is a mix of (mostly) country and pop tunes that I have been enjoying lately. Hope you like it!

So there ya have it, my favorite things for April! Hope you enjoy these things as much as I do.

Have a fabulous day!

photo

2 thoughts on “My favorite things: April edition!

Leave a Reply

