Finding that silver lining

Over the past year or so, I’ve come to find that one of my favorite life mottos is “find the silver lining in everything.” I think it’s a pretty valid statement to live by. That’s one of the reasons why I named this section of my blog “Silver Linings.” There is always a positive way to look at something negative…you just have to have an open heart and mind.

We all go through hard times and have moments when we think the world is going to end as we know it. Believe me, that’s something that I’m not a stranger to—especially with finals week coming up! 😉

It’s definitely taken me a while to adopt this new way of thinking. For those of you who have followed my blog for a while (or know me in person), you have probably picked up the fact that I use a walker. (You see that when I model an outfit for my OOTD segments. :)) I was born with Cerebral Palsy, so that’s why. It took away the ability to walk by myself. Without a doubt, the absence of walking sure has put some challenges in my path. For one, it takes more effort for me to get from point A to point B. Since I’m at college right now and live independently, let’s just say that I’m ready to hit the sack at night. Having this mild disability is tiring, but through the years it has taught me some wonderful and valuable life lessons that I couldn’t have learned any other way.

Having CP has really made me learn to enjoy the small things in life. I know—it sounds really cheesy, but it’s true! One of my favorite things to do when I’m at home is to drive my four wheeler around our property and just be with nature. I love looking at the pretty flowers, breathing in fresh air, and other things like that.

Perhaps the most valuable lesson I’ve learned with having CP is being thankful for the things that I do have instead of pouting over the things that I don’t. I can’t tell you how many tears I’ve cried over the years because I was unable to do what my peers were doing, like playing sports. I would have given just about anything to be able to keep up with them. I remember being frustrated with God asking Him why He put me like this. Over the years, I started getting fed up with having pity parties every now and then and decided once and for all that I was going to turn my thinking around. I may not be able to run as fast as everyone, but I still have a heck of a lot to be thankful for: my health, my wonderful family and friends who are always supportive and fun to laugh with, and most of all, God. I have Him by my side, so why do I have to be afraid/mad/sad?

I know what you’re thinking: “Easier said than done.” Trust me, I agree with you 100 percent! It is not always easy to find the silver lining in everything. I still have moments when I get really frustrated about my disability. And you know what? It’s okay to feel that way. Sometimes you just need to sit down and have a good cry. But the thing is, once you make up your mind that you’re going to look at things in a more positive light, it get’s easier to get out of your bad mood! I try to recognize when and why I’m cranky so I can get myself out of it faster. 🙂 It works!

Below, I’ll post a video that I did last year on this topic. I hope it brings some hope into your day, and that you too will start to find the silver lining in everything!

Leave a Reply

