God’s got His eyes on us

If I’ve learned anything in life, it would have to be that God can pop up anywhere. It’s true! He can appear as anything. He can speak to you through someone you know or someone you don’t. I know this because it has happened to me before. I would have never guessed that one of the most profound moments of my entire life happened in the middle of the university center on a normal Tuesday afternoon, nearly three years ago.

For those of you who don’t know, I am currently working on my degree in journalism. But before I decided I wanted to write for a living, I dreamed of being a nurse. I know—I completely changed my mind! For almost a decade, I thought my mission in life was to work in a hospital and help the sick feel better. Two months into my freshman year of college, God decided to change things up and guide me into journalism.

Anyway, this profound moment completely came out of nowhere. I had just finished meeting with one of my schedule councilors, trying to decide what was the next step for me since nursing wasn’t quite my thing anymore. After the meeting, I was perched in the university center grabbing a snack before my 2 p.m. class. I was just a little bit confused, pondering my future. But in no way did I feel down in the dumps about anything. I pondered my options for a minute or two while scrolling through my phone.

Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a guy who I’d never met before approaching my table. I looked up from my phone, flashed a smile and said “hey!” He quickly pulled out a chair and casually sat down.

“I know you don’t know me, and I don’t know you. But God just gave me the urge to come over here and tell you that things are gonna be okay. And you don’t need to worry because He has a plan for you,” the guy said.

At that moment, chills ran down my spine and I froze for a second. WHOA. What just happened?! My mouth was full of food so I was trying my best to swallow and respond.

“That’s really weird,” I began, stammering through my words. “I just found out that I’m gonna change my major so I’ve been looking for direction and so it’s really neat that you say that!”

The guy nodded and got up from the chair. “Well, I’ve gotta go take a math test now, but I’ll see you later!” He walked out of the lounge and made his way through the large crowd of people.

***

That encounter lasted no more than about 30 seconds, but it’s amazing that a small amount of time can have such an impact on your life. Sure, I knew that God was going to guide my feet and show me the way to go, but I had know idea that He was going to reassure me right when I was thinking about it.

I know that sometimes it seems like God is far away and we are way down here. Believe me, I feel like that a lot. But the truth is, it’s the exact opposite. He is actually everywhere. His eyes are always on us. We don’t ever have to feel like we have to figure life out on our own, because God will be there every step of the way!

Leave a Reply

