Four pretty lipsticks to wear this spring

Hey, friends!
It may be 37 degrees outside as I’m writing this, but I am still looking forward to spring. I love the change of the seasons because we get to swap our darker dramatic makeup for lighter, more playful looks. Here are four lipsticks that I think every girl should have in her makeup collection this spring. I have blogged about most of these in previous posts, but hey–they are worth another mention… šŸ™‚

Left to Right

Left to Right

First off, we haveĀ Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color in Faint For Fuchsia.Ā It can be really hard to find an affordable, highly-pigmented matte lipstick. I was looking at some higher-end brands a while back and couldn’t bring myself to drop a good chunk of change on a single lipstick. Luckily, this one was just around $7 and is INCREDIBLE quality! Without a doubt, the bright color speaks for itself–it is very bold! I recommend toning down the rest of your makeup when wearing this. A simple bronzed eye would look fabulous! A couple more tips? Swipe on lip balm before applying the lipstick. Matte finishes are known to drag and be drying, but balm keeps it from happening. Lip liner is also another good idea to keep the color from straying/feathering. Plus, it is very much like a stain; Ā it lasts for hours!

Next, we haveĀ Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Fire & Ice.Ā I would have to say that Revlon is pretty much my favorite drugstore lipstick brand. Why? They have a tremendously large selection, have a variety of finishes and are high-quality. They have a color for your every mood. Fire & Ice is the perfect cross between a red and coral color; a Ā balance between the two! It reminds me very much of old hollywood glamour! I like to use my finger or a lip brush to apply this. It can look a bit too bright and clown-like if you go straight from the tube. Patting it on with your finger opts for a more natural finish. The lipstick is also very smooth and creamy, so it won’t dry you out!

Having a medium skin tone, nude lipsticks can completely wash me out! So when I’m looking for one, I have to be a bit picky. I have found that nude colors with a hint of pink work best for me; I get the nude finish that I like but with a pinkish undertone to give my complexion some color.Ā Nars Sheer Lipstick in CruisingĀ is the perfect nude for me! Like I said, it is a fleshy nude with a soft pink undertone and just a dash of shimmer. I love it so much! It is also super hydrating. You don’t even need a mirror to apply because it glides on so smoothly.

Lastly, we haveĀ Smashbox Be Legendary Lipstick in Posy Pink.Ā I have owned this since Christmas, and now I’m so happy that I’ll be wearing it more in the warm months. Posy Pink is such a fun, springy color! I would describe it as peachy-pink. You would think that that color combo would have a frosty finish, but that’s not true! Instead, it is very smooth, shiny and creamy. The pigmentation is really great too, and so is the quality. Ā This lipstick is definitely one of my new favorites!

Hope you enjoy these products as much as I do! The weather may be cold and dreary outside, but a swipe of cheery lipstick can provide a boost for your mood. šŸ™‚ I will provide swatches so you can get a better look at the colors!

From top: Faint for Fuchsia, Fire & Ice, Cruising, Posy Pink

From top: Faint for Fuchsia, Fire & Ice, Cruising, Posy Pink

Have a fabulous day!

photo

5 thoughts on “Four pretty lipsticks to wear this spring

Leave a Reply

