Holiday beauty extravaganza: face

Hey, friends!

I don’t know about y’all, but the cold and windy winter weather has got me feeling kinda drowsy today. No matter how hard I try, my energy is just drained! So I thought, “Hmm. Nothing puts a little pep in my step better than writing a new blog post.” So that’s what I’ve done! Today, I’ll tell you about the new face cosmetics I got over Christmas break….

photo 1

Believe it or not, I’ve changed up my foundation routine again. For the cold months, I like more of a creamy-formula foundation for my face. The weather can easily make your complexion feel ashy, so the formula helps combat that. I use Benefit Some Kind-a Gorgeous Foundation Faker in Medium. As the name suggests, the texture is so light and airy that it barely feels like you’re wearing anything. With that being said, coverage is also buildable. I would say this foundation is best for those who are seeking light to medium coverage.

On top of my foundation, I like to dust my face with a light layer of powder just to seal everything in. Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder has been my favorite for a long time. I used to use the shade “Sandstorm” but the store was out of that shade when I went to buy more, so I got “Transparent” instead. This color goes on clear! I love it because even though this product is a powder, it doesn’t feel the least bit cakey. It just helps keep shine away!

photo 3

I may have a medium skin tone, but that doesn’t mean I’m tanned all year; my skin can still look a little bit dull when it’s cold! To fix this problem, I wear a little bit of NYC Sun ‘n’ Bronze Bronzing Powder in Hamptons Radiance. I’ll be honest with ya–bronzer can scare me. I’m always afraid that if I apply too much I’ll end up looking like an Oompa Loompa. Thankfully, that fear is diminished with this stuff. Because it contains three different shades, you don’t have to worry about looking orange and monotone. I just swirl a large powder blush in it and apply all over my face for a natural, sun-kissed glow!

photo 2

Although I’m a fan of all blushes, I think a cream can be most ideal to use in the winter. Because of the dewy finish, it can give your tired skin a healthy pink glow. NYX Cosmetics seem to be getting a lot of press lately, so I was excited to try their products. At Target, I picked up the Rouge Cream Blush in Glow. For the tiny price of about $6, you can get yourself this high-quality blush. The cream may look hot pink on your finger, but when you apply it to your cheeks, it is actually very pretty!  All you need is a small swipe. The more you pat it on, the more the color diffuses and looks natural. This blush can even double as lip balm!

photo 4

To me, highlighter is like the “cherry on top” for the face. It is the last thing that I apply in my makeup routine. I apply just a small amount to my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose and on my brow bone. Laura Geller Baked Gelato Face Illuminator in Ballerina gets the job done. The soft bronze-gold color gives my face just the perfect amount of sheen. Highlighter is great for any skin tone because it helps your face look glowy and defined!

So there ya have it, the latest installment of my Holiday Beauty Extravaganza. I hope you enjoy these products as much as I do!

Have a fabulous day!

photo

4 thoughts on “Holiday beauty extravaganza: face

  1. TrinaBina says:

    I have the Rimmel Stay Matte in Transparent too and I love it to pieces.. its so light and I love that it goes on clear…great post. ♥ misstrinabina.wordpress.com

      • TrinaBina says:

        I have an absolute obsession with Maybelliene’s Falsies Mascara and the Urban Decay Naked Pallet…staples for my everyday. ♥ misstrinabina.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

