My favorite things: January edition

Hello, friends!

Today I thought I’d take a small break from my Holiday Beauty Extravaganza to instead talk about my other favorite things for January!

For those of you who don’t know, I am affected with a mild disability called Cerebral Palsy that leaves me unable to walk on my own. Growing up, I was unable to play sports, so I had to discover other hobbies. Two of those quickly became reading and listening to music! I know it sounds ultra cheesy, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE to read because it is truly like you are traveling to another place; I really feel like I’m right there with the characters. The same thing goes for music. When I’m listening to a song, I can forget about whatever’s going on in my life and just enjoy the lyrics! And it’s always fun to break out in song and dance! 🙂 So, for this month, I wanted to tell you about my favorite books and music.

1. Unique Reads

photo 1

Like I said, I’ve been an avid reader from the time I was about six years old. I’ve read all kinds of books from all genres, but these are two books that have truly unique stories!

Me Before You is the second novel I’ve read by Jojo Moyes. I love her writing style; even though she writes simply, she still tells a compelling and moving story that is able to hold your attention. In this novel, Moyes writes about a woman, Lou, who decides to take a job as a caretaker for a quadriplegic man, Will.  Without giving too much away, the novel chronicles the relationship between Lou and Will, and the challenges that they encounter. I loved this book because I had never read anything like it. The characters seem very real and you find yourself honestly caring about them!

In addition to being a lover of fashion, makeup, music and books, I am also A HUGE HUGE history buff. I just find it so interesting!  My favorite time period to learn about is World War II, so I knew that I would like All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. It tells the story of two young people and how the War affects their lives. Marie-Laure is a blind girl who flees France with her father. Werner is an orphaned German boy who just happens to be an engineering whiz. Doerr has a very unique writing style. The chapters are very short, yet the way he uses his words makes everything descriptive and real. I recommend this book not only if you’re a history lover like me, but also if you wanna check out a truly unique way of telling a story!

2. Music 

“FOUR” by One Direction

Photo credit: YouTube

Photo credit: YouTube

Okay, Okay. I know what you’re thinking: “Lyndi’s one of those crazy One Direction fans, so of course she loves every song they sing.” It’s true that I’ve always thought the 1D boys are cute and charming, but their latest effort really impressed me! Sure, there are still some zippy pop tunes on here, but most of the songs are really mature and relatable. My favorites are Fools Gold, Night Changes, Spaces and Fireproof.

“Greatest Hits: Decade #1” by Carrie Underwood 

photo 2 (1)

It’s hard to believe that it’s been ten years since Carrie Underwood was on American Idol; I remember watching her win! Since then, she’s obviously become a bona fide superstar with a dynamite singing voice. This two-disc set includes all her hits thus far along with new songs and even some work tapes that give you a look on how she actually wrote some songs. To me, The two highlights on the album have to be Something in the Water and How Great Thou Art. I just think it’s so neat that she sings a song about baptism and having faith in God. And her rendition of How Great Thou Art is out of this world. It gives me chills every time I hear it!

I hope you enjoy these books and music as much as I do! If you have any suggestions on books to be read or songs that need to be heard, let me know. 🙂

Have a fabulous day!

Happy Friday from me and Emme! :)

Happy Friday from me and Emme! 🙂

Lyndi

Leave a Reply

