Holiday beauty extravaganza: lips!

Hello, friends!

Boy, it sure is good to be back from Christmas break. After three weeks of downtime in my hometown, I am nervous/excited to begin the second semester of my junior year here in Nashville! Anyway, as we all know, Christmas was just a couple of weeks ago. During that time, I got a TON of new beauty products that I absolutely love and are worth blogging about. So, instead of posting a forever long blog on every single thing that would take hours to write, I broke things up a bit. For this post, I’m going to talk about all the new LIP products I received. Without further ado, let’s get started! šŸ™‚

photo 1

(left to right)

As you can tell, I am a HUGE lipstick junkie! In fact, my makeup organizer is so filled with products that the drawer to my beauty desk can’t shut all the way. Although I have just about every color of the rainbow in my collection, there is one item that I was missing–a lip liner. That’s right! I have dozens of lipsticks, but not one liner. So, I went to the store to find me one, and ended up selectingĀ Maybelline Color Sensational Lipliner in Clear.Ā I thought clear would be the best option since I have so many different colors. So far, I love it! It helps my lipstick stay on longer and it glides on smoothly. Perfect!

For those of you wanting to try out a daring lip color this new year, Maybelline Color Sensational Creamy Matte Lip Color in Faint For Fuchsia is the shade for you. For a drugstore lipstick, this sure is top quality! I was searching around high-end stores for a bright, highly-pigmented lipstick but just couldn’t bring myself to drop over $20 on the color I was wanting. I ended up finding an exact dupe in the exact color and texture for a fraction of the cost! A tip…slick on lip balm before applying. This lipstick is very long-wearing, so the balm will keep your lips from drying!

I have been a fan of Laura Geller for a long time! If you’ve read any of my other posts, you know that she makes my absolute favorite primer. My mom got me one of her makeup kits for Christmas, and thisĀ Color Brilliance Lustrous Lipstick in KissĀ came in it. It’s such a pretty color; I would describe it as the perfect balance between red and pink, complete with a pretty dewy finish. The packaging itself is skinny, making it fast and easy to apply. Best of all, the shade would flatter any skin tone!

When you think of highly-pigmented lipstick, you may think that means that the color will be bold and bright, and not very practical for everyday wear. However, that’s not always the case!Ā bareMinerals Marvelous Moxie Lipstick in Speak Your MindĀ is the one of the smoothest lip colors I’ve ever felt! Although the texture is rich and packed with color, it is also silky. The baby pink color is natural-looking and will be perfect for this spring! I’m looking forward to trying more colors in the future.

I have never tried anything from Smashbox before, so I was super excited when I found a duo of its miniĀ Be Legendary LipstickĀ in my stocking on Christmas morning! The two colors I got areĀ Posy PinkĀ andĀ Fig.Ā Their names describe their colors: Posy pink is a light, peachy pink while Fig is dark red with a little bit of purple. Both have a shiny but natural finish. I’m a fan!

Last but not least is L’OrealĀ Colour Riche Extraordinaire Lip Color in Rose Symphony. I would describe it as a poppy-bubblegum pink. When this came in the mail, I thought, “Oh goodness, too bright for me!” But I was wrong. Without a doubt, this color is on the bold side, but it is actually very pretty and flattering on my medium skin tone. Despite its glossy (but not sticky) texture, this stays on for hours! Who knew? I recommend you give this product a try.

Whew! Thanks for reading this lengthy post. I have much more products that I am so excited to share. Hope you enjoy these lip colors as much as I do. Whether you like a bold lipstick or silky gloss, I know there is a product that will look great on you! I will post swatches below so you can get a good look at the colors.

From top: Faint For Fuchsia, Kiss, Speak Your Mind

From top: Faint For Fuchsia, Kiss, Speak Your Mind

From top: Posy Pink, Fig, Rose Symphony

From top: Posy Pink, Fig, Rose Symphony

Stay tuned for more of my Holiday Beauty Extravaganza and have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

Leave a Reply

