Trending now: shiny shadows

Hello friends!

Fall semester classes have come to a close, which means it’s time for final exams. UGH! In the midst of my studying, I thought I would take a break and write a small blog post! I always love to read the fashion and beauty magazines to see what is on trend with makeup. Lately, I’ve noticed that creamy, shimmery eyeshadows seem to be big right now. So you know me; I couldn’t wait to run to the store and try some shadows out for myself. Here are the two that I have in my beauty collection.

I tried to provide swatches for the colors, but they photographed kind of awkwardly.  So if you want to get a closer look at the colors, I’ll include links to both the products! 🙂

photo 3

Before I apply any type of eyeshadow, I like to prime my lids with Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden. I have mentioned this stuff several times now on my blog–it is my favorite! The primer has a slight yellow tint, so it gives your lids a brightening effect. Primer is great because it not only helps your shadow last all day, but it also intensifies the color of the shadow and makes it look vivid and pretty. A little goes a long way; you only need like a pea-sized amount and you’re good.  It’s a must-have in everyone’s makeup bag!

1. Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Eyeshadow in Playa Del Pink

photo 2

I have been curious to try this stuff ever since it came out recently! I love how Josie Maran’s products are  full of natural ingredients and free of nasty chemicals. I would describe the Playa Del Pink color as a shimmery, natural beige with just the slightest rosy pink undertone. It almost looks like the color of your lids but with a healthy, soft glow. To use the product, all you have to do is give the small glass bottle a firm shake (the coconut water and pigments separate) and apply the sponge-tip applicator to your lids. I like to blend the product with my finger just to make sure it’s nice and set. As a bonus, the coconut water has a cooling effect so it feels really refreshing. I will definitely be buying more colors soon! To intensify the look a little more, I apply a bronzeish-brown powder to the outer corners of my eyes for a soft smokey eye!

2. Covergirl Bombshell Shineshadow in Color Me Money

photo 1

I saw this stuff featured recently in Allure Magazine’s Best Beauty Buys issue. So of course, I had to try it out! I would describe it as a greenish-silver color. Despite the odd-sounding combo, it looked surprisingly natural on my lids and made my brown eyes pop! Since the eyeshadow didn’t come with an applicator like the Josie Maran one did, I put a pea-sized amount on the back of my hand and applied with just a normal, flat eyeshadow brush. I was able to have a lot of control, so there was zero messiness. Perfect!

I hope you enjoy these shiny shadows as much as I do. They are both great products, so I recommend them to anyone!

Better get back to studying now. Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

4 thoughts on “Trending now: shiny shadows

  1. Reify says:

    I got the Josie Maran eyeshadow in Rio de Rose Gold in the holiday kit. I haven’t tried it yet but the shade you have looks wonderful! Btw, I am giving away the Urban Decay Naked On The Run on my blog, so if you’re interested feel free to check out my post and enter!

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

