Makeup routine + two fall looks

Hello, friends!

I hope everyone is enjoying this lovely fall day. I must say, down here in Nashville it feels as if fall went straight out the window and we’ve plunged into winter. When I woke up at 6:40 this morning, I checked the temp and it was just 19 degrees and I was like, “one big no!” Nonetheless, the sky is blue, the trees are a beautiful variety of colors, so that makes me happy. Enough with my rambling; let’s get on task with this week’s blog!

Anyway, today I thought I would do a post on my daily makeup routine and two different looks I wear often in the cold months. The colors I wear are very simple and I think would flatter most skin tones. Let’s start with my base:

photo 1

My makeup looks may change from day to day, but my base routine doesn’t! After washing my face with Cetaphil, I apply Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. I’ve used that stuff for four years now, and am not planning on switching anytime soon. It’s just so simple, classic and doesn’t feel tacky. On top of my moisturizer, I apply Laura Geller Spackle Under Makeup Primer. This is another product I’ve used for years and don’t even wanna think about switching. Some primers seem to sit on top of the skin and feel greasy, but this stuff is the exact opposite. It’s a light gel formula that almost gives off a cooling sensation. It helps my makeup last all day, which is a huge plus! I will say that a single tube runs about $30, but it will last you six to nine months! After that, we have the most important step to any routine…the foundation. I use Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation Stick in 03 Beige. I started using it earlier this year before I changed to my summer foundation. It is probably one of my favorites. Again, it is pricey, but it does’t break me out or have a weird texture. It looks just like my skin tone. On top of the stick foundation, I apply Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder in Sandstorm. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff. If you are not a fan of powder (which I wasn’t for years) this is for you. It is so finely milled that it feels weightless on your skin. No matter what season it is, I love to wear this stuff because it keeps my face from getting shiny. Best of all, it only costs around $5! And the product works better than high dollar powders out there. It’s a win-win situation!

photo 2

Before we start discussing the different makeup looks, I thought I would include my eye makeup routine, since it stays the same for both of them. Before I apply anything, I prime my eyes with Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer Potion in Eden (so sorry I forgot to include it in the picture)! It keeps any shadow from creasing. Next, I use Physicians Formula Shimmer Strips Custom All-In-1 Palette. It has the prettiest gold and pink toned colors that would flatter anyone! I apply the pink tones on my whole lid, and then use a slanted shadow brush to apply the gold tones to the outer corner of my eyes. It gives them this cool ombre effect! For eyeliner, I stick to classic liquid black. My go-to right now is L’Oreal The InFalliable Blackbuster Liquid Eyeliner. The wide put precise felt tip makes it so easy to apply since I have wide-set eyes! Finally, I finish the look off with Maybelline Pumped Up! Colossal Volum’Express in Glam Black. I just wrote about this a month or so ago, and am still a fan. It has everything you want in a mascara: volume, length and zero clumping.

{Look one: Pink, radiant glow}

photo 3

Let’s get started with this lovely pink look! I wear this when my clothes are soft, pastel colors. Okay, so after I apply my foundation, I apply a highlighter to my cheekbones and down the bridge of my nose. I use Revlon Photoready Skin Lights in Pink Light. Some highlighters out there can get pretty pricey, but this one is reasonable. The soft pink color makes my face look and feel fresh on gloomy winter days. It isn’t shimmery so you don’t have to worry about looking tacky. On top of the highlighter, I apply a pinkish, orchid toned powder–Clinique Blushing Blush in Iced Lotus. When the creaminess of the highlighter clings to the powder blush, it creates a beautiful “lit-from-within” glow that looks so pretty and natural. Lastly, for the lips I like to layer two favorites. Revlon Super Lustrous Lipcolor in Primrose and Revlon Color Burst Lip Butter in Sweet Tart. Primrose is like the lipstick version of the blush I talked about; a pinkish, orchid color. Sweet Tart is just a fun, bright pink (but don’t worry, it’s not too bright)! Layer the two and you’ve got yourself a unique pink shade!

{Look two: warm, golden berry}

photo 4

I wear this look when my clothes are deeper colors: black, navy, army green and so on. When I apply my primer, I mix a little bit of MAC Cosmetics Lustre Drops in Sun Rush with it. I’ve found that when I apply the drops alone it can get a little streaky, so mixing it with something makes it a whole lot easier. My skin achieves a pretty, golden glow! On top of the highlighter, I use Milani Baked Blush in Berry Amore. I know it looks pink in the picture, but the color is actually a berry-rose with a golden undertone. It complements my natural flush perfectly while adding warmth. This blush is great; it’s super high quality, but costs under $10. I recommend going to the drugstore and stocking up. 🙂 I finish off the look with an intense oxblood colored lipstick such as Lorac Alter Ego Lipstick in Dominatrix. I also wrote about this a month ago and it’s still at the top of my list. The intense, matte texture is perfect for fall. However, I do suggest wearing lip balm under it so your lips don’t dry out!

I hope you enjoy these looks as much as I do! Once again, sorry for the long length of this post. I just have so much fun talking about makeup!

Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

4 thoughts on “Makeup routine + two fall looks

Leave a Reply

