October beauty report!

photo 1-2

Hello, friends!

I love to try bold new lip and eye looks for the fall. Here are some items I have picked up recently. I think you will like them, too!

In autumn, you can’t go wrong with a plum lip. The color is basically a shade or two darker than your natural lip color; meaning it looks natural but still makes a statement! A couple of my friends gave this P2 Sheer Glam Lipstick in Sex and the City to me as a gift. I absolutely love the texture–very soft, buttery and easy to apply. Plus, I was so excited to try the P2 makeup line in general, since it’s not available in the United States!

If you’ve picked up any fashion or beauty magazines lately, you will discover that deep, dark lip colors are really on trend–I’m talking about intense reds and even purples. So the other day when I was at Ulta, I decided to look for the perfect color to match my skin tone. The lipstick I finally selected was LORAC Highly Pigmented Cream Lipstick in Dominatrix. I am a big fan of this color! It is a gorgeous oxblood shade, perfect for fall! Let me offer you a tip: Because it is highly pigmented and has a matte finish, I recommend prepping lips with a moisturizing balm (I like the cute little EOS spheres because they don’t altar the finish) and then applying the lipstick with a brush or cosmetic sponge. It lets you have more control and the color will go on more evenly! Probably my favorite thing about this product is the staying power. I applied it at 11 a.m. and didn’t have to reapply till 3 p.m. I was so impressed; lipsticks usually aren’t known to be long lasting!

Another lip product I’m a fan of this fall is Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Certainly Red. I noticed that Allure Magazine had included it in their Best Beauty Buys issue, so I decided to give it a go! Unlike the LORAC lipstick I was just talking about, this color is more of a retro, cherry red than dark oxblood. With that being said, I still love it! It has a delicious, creamy texture that is so comfortable. Again, I recommend not applying straight from the tube and instead using your finger, brush or sponge. When I applied it straight from the tube, it was too bright, so using another method will make it look more natural. This is the perfect red lipstick to wear if you need a dose of confidence: just apply and get ready to smile!

Now, let’s move on to fixing up those pretty peepers! Along with the P2 lipstick I received from my sweet German friends, they also gave me this: P2 Color Up! Eyeshadow in Coffeeshop Queen. This metallic brown color is also perfect for fall because it looks like your natural skin tone, just with a hint of shimmer–so pretty! It is also subtle enough for everyday wear! I like to put my Urban Decay Primer Potion underneath for a little bit more staying power.

I’ll just go ahead and say it. It is impossible for me to commit to using one mascara. There are so many options..different wands, formulas, packaging, etc. When I saw this bright pink tube of Maybelline Pumped Up! Colossal Mascara in Black, I knew I had to buy it! I actually use it as my second coat of mascara after I apply CoverGirl LashBlast Fusion. The Maybelline Mascara has a giant wand that does a terrific job of adding extra volume to my lashes, not to mention making them clump-free and curly!

Before I go, I wanted to ask for some input. I have been wanting to try out a deep purple shade of lipstick or stain. I’ve noticed around the internet that the NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Transylvania has been INCREDIBLY popular (it was sold out at my local Ulta and Amazon.com) and so I was looking for another option. Does anyone know a brand that carries a deep purple shade?

So there ya have it…my October beauty report! Hope you enjoy these products as much as I have.

Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

2 thoughts on “October beauty report!

Leave a Reply

