Maintaining your mane: Updated 2014!

Hello, friends!

Around a year or so ago, I did my first and only post on the different hair products I use. I have to say that the hair department is the only area where I don’t have the most experience in. For me, it can kind of be a hassle; I’m not good at holding both a brush and a dryer at the same time to do my hair. (If I had an extra arm, things would be a whole lot easier, haha!) But nonetheless, I thought I would share an updated version of my favorite hair care products. Maybe they will make your routine more simple as well!

photo 1-3

Before I went back to school, I decided to get a keratin treatment done for my hair, just like I did last year. I know that it’s a little bit pricey, but for me it’s well worth it. My hair texture is very fine so I can be prone to having small thinning spots in my hair because it can get tangled and fall out then I try to brush. I use Keratin Complex Keratin Color Care Shampoo & Conditioner to maintain my hair. It doesn’t have any harsh salts in it, so the keratin won’t wash out. I also love the earthy scent these have to them.

When I get out of the shower, my hair still has tangles in it. So instead of using regular detangler spray, I use this—L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Dry Oil. Now, I know what you’re thinking—”Lyndi! Oil will make my hair look greasy and gross!” But listen, you don’t have to worry. It absorbs very quickly and doesn’t even leave a residue. I put about 5 squirts in my hands and then rub together and run my fingers through the tangles. I wait about two minutes for the oil to soak in and use a wide-tooth comb to detangle. This product works like magic. I’ll even say that it has made my hair grow a lot even in just a single month! Highly recommended.

photo 3-3

I will confess: on some nights, I just don’t have the time and energy to wash my hair. On the days I skip, I use a dry shampoo to clean it. Garnier Fructis Volume Extend Dry Shampoo is a really nice product. To use, I section off my hair and spray this stuff on the roots and lightly around my hair. BUT I have a piece of advice! Make sure you spray about 6 inches away from your hair, wait two minutes and blend it out. One time, I was in a big hurry and sprayed it really quickly and just left it. Little did I know that I had left a powdery white residue on my hair. Oops! Lesson learned: slow down.  🙂

photo 2-3

  As I wrote in my previous hair themed blog post, I use one of those wet-hair-friendly hairbrushes. They make all the difference in the world. They are way more gentle than regular brushes, and they don’t snag on knots or feel painful. You can buy one at any store these days!

Do you ever wish that you could both brush and blow dry and style hair in one simple step? If you’re uncoordinated like me, then the Tool Science Electric Brush Iron is the answer to your hairstyling prayers. This thing is just magical. When I normally blow dry my hair, it looks really poofy by the time it’s dry.  Now, I brush it out quickly after drying and use this tool to smooth out and add body to my hair. It helps control the frizz, and it helps my hair look more put-together. Fab!!!

I hope you enjoy these products as much as I do!

Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

One thought on “Maintaining your mane: Updated 2014!

Leave a Reply

