Pretty peepers: six products for fabulous eyes!

 

photo-2

Hello, friends!

As a makeup junkie, I find that I go through different “crazes.” For a couple of months, I’ll be really into buying new lipsticks, when other months I’ll be into trying new mascaras. However, I’ve found that in the last couple months I’ve been really into buying new eyeshadows, liners and things of that nature. I thought I would share my favorites that I have discovered!

When it comes to wearing eyeshadow, the most important step is applying primer. If you don’t wear it, your eyeshadow has a good chance of creasing or fading by the end of the day. Gasp! To combat this issue, I am currently using Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden. For months, I have seen that this primer has been a popular buy, so I wanted to try it for myself. So far, I have loved it! Let me give you a tip, though: A little goes a LONG way! The first time I tried the product, I put a pea-sized amount on the tip of my finger and applied it directly to my eyelid. When I started blending out, I realized that I used WAY too much. Instead, I find that a pin-head sized amount is ideal. Apply it to your finger first, and then use another finger to blend it out before you put it on your eyelid. Your body heat will warm the primer up and it will go on smoothly. Also, Eden has a slight yellow tint to it; I quite like it, it gives eyelids a boost of brightness!

Let’s move on to cream eyeshadow. I used to think that you had to spend a large amount of money to find a good one. I have bought some in the past only to find that they dry out quickly or crease. Eww! However, when I tried Maybelline Color Tattoo 24-Hour Shadow, my opinion was changed. The two shades I own are Inked in Pink and Bad to the Bronze. Let’s start with Inked in Pink: When you think of pink eyeshadow, you may have a not-so-good opinion: some pink shadows appear too bright, creating the illusion that you’ve been hit in the eye. Others may appear too glitzy. But let me tell you, this shadow is unlike most. This light, seashell pink is so graceful and pretty. It doesn’t appear tacky or frosty at all. I honestly think Inked in Pink can flatter any skin tone.

Now for Bad to the Bronze—For the longest time, I have stayed away from trying a smoky eye look. Whenever I tried to wear darker eyeshadow, I always looked overdone and resembled a raccoon. Within the last couple months, I have been watching TV and have found that ladies with olive skin tones like me have been wearing the smoky eye look, but with shades of brown instead. “Why haven’t I thought of that?” I asked myself. I ventured to my local drugstore to pick up this shade, Bad to the Bronze. I have finally found my answer to the smoky eye. This is the best color. Of course, it has a brown, bronze-ish color. But if you look closer, it almost looks like it has gold undertones. This is great because when you put it on, the color doesn’t look flat and dark; it brings light to your face! I will never be without this product.

Some of you may shiver at the idea of wearing a powder eyeshadow in the summer. But as long as you take the proper step to prime, you should be good to go. I first saw L’Oreal 24-hour Infalliable Eye Shadow in Amber Rush on Pinterest one day. From the moment I saw the “rose gold” description, I knew I had to try it out! I just love the color—the pairing of gold and soft rose seem like a chic combination when you think about it. I even like to wear a rose gold-colored blush in the warm months. Anyway, I loved it from the moment I put it on. It gives off the prettiest sheen, and isn’t too shimmery for even a day at work. Again, this shade would flatter any skin tone.

For the longest time, I have been searching for the perfect brown pencil eyeliner. The one that I used to have was pretty terrible; it was dry and pulled on my eyelid. The worst! Not too long ago, I found the most PERFECT solution! L’Oreal Extra-Intense Liquid Pencil Eyeliner in Brown is the answer to any eyeliner lover’s dreams. I know, I know, you may be saying, “Liquid pencil? Isn’t that an oxymoron, Lyndi?” Hear me out on this. When you put it on, it is the smoothest, creamiest eyeliner you will ever feel. It is so smooth and pigmented, in fact, that it looks like a liquid line instead of pencil. It is perfect for you if you have trouble with liquid liner. If you make a mistake, just use the smudging tool to even it out. I’ve been wearing eyeliner for a long time and I still have trouble with it at times. I would also like to note that I love pairing this eyeliner with Bad to the Bronze eyeshadow. It makes the best combo!

The last thing I wanna talk about today is my new favorite brow gel. Benefit Gimme Brow Volumizing Brow Gel in Medium/Deep is one of the most unique cosmetics I have ever purchased. Even though I was blessed with thick brows, I still like to play them up! This brow gel works by producing tiny fiber hairs that adhere to your natural brows, making them appear more abundant and defined. It also does a fabulous job of keeping them in place all day. The small brush allows you to have steady control, which is always a plus!

I hope you enjoy these products as much as I do! You are sure to have pretty peepers in no time! So sorry for the lengthy post. It has been a while since I’ve written, so I thought I would write a longer one.

Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

2 thoughts on “Pretty peepers: six products for fabulous eyes!

Leave a Reply

