Maintaining your mane

Hello, all! Before I begin, I would like to say that this is my last blog post for my journalism class. I had to create this blog for a class assignment. However, I have had so much fun posting about fashion and beauty for the last couple months that I have decided to maintain it! It may not be as often; I will just see how my schedule plays out next semester. I have even thought about expanding it to talk about more than fashion and beauty! With that being said, let’s continue to this week’s post….

I used to be one of those people who would wake up every morning with their hair looking like a bird decided to live in it. I had crazy tangles and frizz. It would take me forever to try to comb through, and even then, the frizz was out-of-control.  Finally, over the summer, I decided to splurge on a smoothing treatment. It has worked wonders for my hair! I have been trying to grow my hair out, so the treatment has worked so well with that. I barely have any frizz, and tangles are at a minimum.  So how do I maintain my sleek  hair without spending a ton of money? Let’s take a look at the products:

afterlight-28

L’Oreal EverSleek Reparative Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner, $6 each When I first got my smoothing treatment, I used a high-end brand of smoothing shampoo that wasn’t so cheap. When it came time to buy more, I decided to search the drugstore for a cheaper option, and came upon this. I have always been a fan of L’Oreal’s haircare products because they are free of harsh sulfates that can strip hair of its natural oils. This shampoo has a light gel consistency that is infused with sunflower, argan and olive oils to shield hair from frizz for 48 hours! The conditioner has a creamy consistency that is very lush and does a great job of detangling. My favorite thing about this pair is the scent; it is a nice, pleasant floral — a unique change from other fresh-smelling products!

afterlight-29

Matrix Biolage Smooththerapie Deep Smoothing Leave-In Cream, $13 I apply a nickel-sized amount of this thick cream to my wet hair and then I blow dry. It does a really good job of helping my hair maintain its smoothness. As a bonus, it also smells good and makes hair very soft — who doesn’t like that?

afterlight-30

Tresemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo, $6 We have all heard that washing your hair every day isn’t the best thing to do; this can also strip hair of its natural oils! On the days I skip washing, I use this nifty product. Mineral clay and citrus banish grease and odor from your hair. It also has a clean, non-cloying scent. Dry shampoo gives hair extra volume, which is always a plus!

afterlight-31

Regency Tangle Free Magic Brush, $18 Like I said, I used to get awful knots in my hair and it would take me forever to get them all brushed out.  Because of all the pulling, I was experiencing mild thinning. Not fun! However, when I got my treatment, my hairdresser recommended this brush. It doesn’t pull or tug on knots like other brushes can. Since I have used it, I have had less “fall out,” and my hair has become thicker — yay! This brush is even safe to use on wet hair.

GRAND TOTAL, $49

I would also like to add that I take biotin daily, which is great because it makes your hair, skin and nails healthy. Sleeping on a silk pillowcase also prevents pesky tangles and frizz!

Sorry for the long length of this post, but I hope these products are of help to you! Which product would you like to try?

Have a fabulous day!

Lyndi

10 thoughts on “Maintaining your mane

  1. kjchavez says:

    As a naturally curly hair girl I love the post so much! I also had no idea about biotin. I will have to take a look at your nails after class! Thank you so much for all the wonderful posts that you have done this semester! I will be looking forward to many more to come in the future!

  2. Joey says:

    I loved reading your blog through class! If I ever grow my hair out I might consider some of those products! I like that L’Oreal is sulfate free too. I’m not in need of a brush with my hair so short at the moment, but I must say that’s a mighty fine looking brush. 🙂
    See you soon!
    Joey

Leave a Reply

